We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B &B stay in New Zealand”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First B &B stay in New Zealand”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was out first B&B experience on our trip to New Zealand recently. The room was great and the breakfast was enough to keep us going for the day as we travelled around the Bay of Islands. Inge and Ed love their B&B and having guests visit. It is worth the stay when you travel upto the Bay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJACKSONN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
How nice that your first B&B experience was with us! Thank you for your suberb rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
449
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely B&B, great was to kick off our trip to NZ. Great setting and room was beautiful. Loved the attention to detail. Thanks to Inge our host. would definately stay there again if up that way.
Inge was helpful as we needed to change booking dates. Room very sweet even down to lavender in the linen and choccies on the pillows.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-L-Austen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is always lovely to get positive feedback. Make sure you look us up again next time you are visiting New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Waters
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The chalet was on the hill only minutes from the waterfront, our apartment was lovely, the view spectacular, & our hostess was exceptional. Her attention to detail was wonderful. We could not have wished for better service, our trips were booked for us, her breakfasts were yummy & the chocolate cake she supplied us with when we had unexpected visitors was divine. We will not only recommend Inge & her Chalet to our friends but should we go back to Paihia we will definitely return to the Chalet Romantica.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies & a lovely view, the King suite had a separate lounge dining kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my chocolate cake...hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were on a long overdue trip around the top of the North Island.When we reached Paihia, we saw the flag at the top of the hill overlooking the town, and had to check it out. Inge and Ed were the most charming of hosts. Our room had so much attention to detail.It was just perfect.
We really enjoyed the Spa pool in the evening.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious.We would recommend Chalet Romantica to anyone who is visiting New Zealand. A memorable stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Glad you found us due to our flag. It was a pleasure having you staying. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the time we departed we were made feel very welcome by Inga. We stayed for 2 nights in the upstairs apartment. The bed was very comfortable and there was a separate lounge with a kitchenette. A private balcony was the perfect setting to watch the afternoon sunset.The room was well equipped with good quality furnishings, linen etc Internet connection was good and breakfast was very comprehensive and delicious,with the view over the bay as an added bonus..Inga gave us recommendations for some day tours as well as the best places to dine. My wife was not feeling well and inga gave her some Chamomile tea and home made biscuits ...she is a very caring and sincere host.
Put Chalet Romantica at the top of your list !

Room Tip: Stay in the upstairs apartment with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Many thanks. Hope your wife is getting better soon and we'll see you again at Chalet Romantica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietzenbach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed two nights withe Inge and Ed and we enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere during our visit. The wonderfull view over the bay, the confortable room, the perfectly arranged delicious breakfast and Inges assistance in booking events and reservations. A reason to remember and to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar_u_Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you Dagmar & Wolfgang. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spend a very enjoyable time here, although our stay was short it was made memorable by the attention to detail of our hosts ( that would put many 5 star hotels to shame), a delicious breakfast and a great view.

To top it all the proprietor gave us excellent tips about how to spend our very short time in the area, her insight made our visit much more rewarding.

I don not remember all the facilities in the room, there is a kitchen which certainly had a microwave, kettle and a fridge, so I am pretty certain you can cook there if needed and there seems to be laundry facilities available for a very reasonable fee (as read in the chalet's brochure since I didn't use them: there is a communal washing machine and dryer whose use is very reasonably priced).

Free internet (within reason) is also available.

Overall a very nice place, ideal to explore what this part of NZ has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TzctlpcLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much! Happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality. See you again in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing