We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Vietnam
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good hostel, good location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A really nice hostel, I stayed here for 2 nights in an 8 bed dorm. The first night we had the dorm to ourselves which was really nice :). It is a good location, only a short walk to the beach and main streets. Good facilities and nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    35
    21
    3
See reviews for
2
25
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed a couple of nights.
Was in an 8 bed dorm. No security in rooms!! And it's all lock and key, valuable items very vulnerable.
Bbq was amazing!! Great value for money!
Very clean, however cleaning staff have little consideration for resting guests.
Not 24hr reception.
Bar was great fun, good kitchen, great tv lounge, great location!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at base so we knew what to expect, we booked because we wanted a fun new year.
It was a very lively new year, rooms nice and clean, staff very friendly, everything great if you don't mind a bit of noisy fun.
Great for the price and you couldn't get a better spot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BridgetG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean, staff were friendly, met some great people, the bar was nice, good night out! kitchen was clean and ok to use. We stayed in 8 bed dorm. The BBQ food was very nice! Good value for money. All in all a good hostel :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The staff are good fun.

location is near the town

Travel companies use this hostel so it is very busy.

rooms normally sleep 8 mixed (one girls room) they all have there own shower and toilet.

Pool is very small, but if you want to swim the sea is a 2 minute walk.

Outdoor Hot is very nice

BBQ at extra cost but is good.

Bar is very lively

Great for single travelers to meet people - not for people wanting a quiet stay.

There are lots of other hotels cheaper on the same road.

Enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: try and get the rooms towards the back. Instead of 8 in one room these have 2 rooms of 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good location, 1 minute to the sea, 5 minutes to town center. With cafe and bars around

Staff is nice, if you check in at late night, you need to find staff in the bar.

Share space is limited, always have people lying on the sofa. The kitchen is not too big, sometimes dirty.

The bar have some activities every night, quite noisy until mid night. And it's near to another bar as well. You can expect the situation.

The bed is so noisy with just a little movement, the first night with 8 people in the room, be prepared to be waked up by the bed....

Anyway, i won't reckon base backpackers to someone who need a quite place to relax and sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherry626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Lara in reception was such an angel. Soo friendly! Nice and cheap! Great bar! If your looking for a quiet night in this place is not for you! These guys know how to throw a party. Exactly what we were looking for! I would defiantly recommend this Base Paihia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katielarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 30 in Paihia
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#26 of 30 in Paihia
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Paihia hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Paihia hostel

Property: Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Address: 18 Kings Road | Pipi Patch, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Sunseekers Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Paihia hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Paihia hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Paihia Hostel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing