We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Ranked #15 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, the rooms were clean and spacious with en suite and a little kitchenette included. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel provided a very good value money for BBQ. Only downside is that the layout of the hostel is a bit strange, to get to the incredibly small communal area or even smaller kitchen you need to walk through the bar which can be a hassle, especially if its a weekend and there's a lot of locals there

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Probably the best Base i have stayed in so far in NZ, the staff have been really good and so helpful. Location is brilliant and the food and drink deals in the bar are great too. The rooms are like chalets with ensuite bathrooms and small kitchens. The pool is more like a pond but the spa pool is really nice. Only issues we had were the beds were quite squeky and there were only 2 plugs in the 8 bed dorms but other than that a great stay.

Room Tip: All the dorms seem to be the same, ours was right next to the bar but it didnt keep us awake at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Mixed 8 bed dorm, close to everywhere you would want to go in Paihia, great party atmosphere, super friendly and helpful staff. Only 2 plug sockets in each dorm which was pretty annoying, lighting was bad in the dorms, and all the beds creaked. But I had. Great time staying here and would definitely recommend to any backpacker who wants a cheap stay, easy to meet people and plenty of things to do

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foamoirefresher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is just next to few others and has a really good location. It's not far from any of the most important places in Pahia. Nice bar with good deals, great bbq deal, friendly staff, nice rooms, quite clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at base for 4 nights its great location close to the beach the rooms were clean the bar didnt keep me up at night and it was a pretty good although very pricey with decent themed nights, all in all good place good service but a little pricey

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel as I normally avoid base because they are normally overpriced and a bit chavvy. I think this hostel was nice and the staff were friendly.

We had a 6 bed dorm with an en suite bathroom and a kitchenette. The rooms were clean and the main kitchen and lounge in the house was very clean too.

It was bit cold to use the pool but it looked clean and well kept.

The bar had a great atmosphere and I had a lot of fun and we had a good night there. The BBQ was tasty and the steak was cooked beautifully.

The only downside was the fact that as we were checking out we were told that all hostels in Auckland would be fully booked due to the Lady Ga Ga gig. We were told if we booked through the receptionist that instead of $40 we would only pay $25. I am a seasoned traveller so I should have said no thanks and booked my own room but instead I booked through the hostel. The receipt said $32 not $40 and of course others that didn't book arrived in Auckland and got rooms at Nomads cheaper than $25. I live and learn.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the bar will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandjdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Return visit to the Pipi Patch and again the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double twin room that was clean, had a TV and towels were provided, the room had its own little kitchen area with a fridge/freezer that was ideal for breakfast and making tea/coffee. The area was shared by other private rooms and allowed us to be with our travelling friends. The Internet is available and is busy with backpackers as it is a "backpackers" and everyone likes to use the internet but a computer is always available with a little bit of patience or there is an internet cafe 1 minute walk down the road. It has a fun bar that is the hub of activity at the weekend and is a fun place to meet people with very reasonable prices and a Happy Hour!! Each evening the bar offers a different activity that is free and allows you to meet other fellow travellers and even some of the staff from the local activities and excursions who also use this as their local bar. It is ideally located 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Paihia and there is a local supermarket only 1 minute walk. The sea is 3 minutes walk away so there is no need to use the small swimming pool. The Spa is well used and enjoyed by many backpackers.
Lots of fun things can be booked via the reception staff or they will recommend companies to call.
I would recommend this backpackers to anyone who wants a friendly, busy, fun place to stay in an ideal location for a good price.

Room Tip: Private Rooms have own kitchen area. Ask for a Dorm that is the furthest away from the bar area if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 31 in Paihia
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
#12 of 31 in Paihia
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#27 of 31 in Paihia
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Paihia hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Paihia hostel

Address: 18 Kings Road | Pipi Patch, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Sunseekers Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $34 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Paihia hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Base Backpackers Paihia hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Paihia Hostel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing