We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peppertree Lodge is a backpackers”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Peppertree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppertree Lodge
Ranked #23 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peppertree Lodge is a backpackers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Location is great if you're looking for a backpackers neighbourhood. We had an ensuite room. Room was advertised as modern - well it might have been modern 15 years ago. Beds were advertised as Motel quality, I've never had such a terrible bed in a Motel or Backpackers. We booked 3 nights but only stayed 1.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
an interesting review to say the least. Your first stay in a backpackers is what you advised us, hence you may not have expected the communal living. You also advised my manager that a family member had recommended you stay here as they had enjoyed it. The room you were in does have a new hotel mattress, and the kitchen is also quite new as was re done less than 2 years ago. You never came and talked to us about your concerns, just advising my manager " this is not for us" whilst he was dealing with another guest , so he was left wondering what was going on. So if we are not advised if there is a issue ( real or other wise) we can do nothing to address it, I suppose in faceless forum you can say what you like without having give the full story, regardless of that I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
11
49
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

A lovely accomodation near the beach. We could use the bikes, kayaks and dvd's for free and the rooms and kitchen were very clean and nice! Far better than chain-hostels like base.

Thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjefNanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, enjoy the rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I enjoyed the location & proximity to the beach but to me attitude is everything and the two owners have a terrible one. They are rude and throw out food if you leave it unattended.
My friend received quite an inappropriate comment because she asked for a towel. Would not stay again, lovely hostel ruined by intolerant owners.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
not sure when you stay here, but we provide labels for food to be labelled, signage on the fridge doors advising to label food, as if not labelled, during cleaning it could be thrown out. If we did not get people to label food and just left it, I am not sure what would either crawl out, or what type of things we would have growing in them. Doubles with ensuites are provided with towels, other are not, we do rent towels out for $2, the only way a towel could have been a issue is that you did not want to pay the $2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

First of all. Hostel has a good location and it's nice and clean. We stayed in room for 4 people and it was nice. I really loved large, clean, well equipped kitchen and sweet outdoor eating area. Bathroom facilities were ok as well. The host, Bryan was just the best and u can see that he has everything under control. He was very helpful with booking tours, gave us some advice & tips and made us laugh with story here and there. Cool guy!

I highly recommended it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alenka Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
thank you for taking time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hostel has a great kitchen - large well equipped and nice outdoor eating area. The 4 bed ensuite room was a good size and it was great to have own toilet, shower (though water pressure weak on first floor). No lockers in rooms. Nice mix of travellers from all over, generally independent travellers. Down side was when 2 of party had to move to another hostel after couple nights( as this one fully booked) and the 4 of us wanted to eat together. Signs everywhere say non residents not welcome. Having bought food and waited till later in eve when kitchen/eating area almost empty we politely asked owner if ok for us to eat together. Flat out no! Despite 2 of us being paying guests and the other 2 residents till that am, and facilities not being used! Was adamant and unfriendly in response, meaning those staying there had to go elsewhere to eat. Rather disappointing

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabbisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
When you checked you were asked how many nights and as a group you got caught out by booking too few. When you check in we point out the signage, if not staying you should not be here. The night in question we were 100% full, a tour group of 26 were scheduled to arrive, when full not just the cooking facilities, but seating is under pressure. Those who have paid to stay have paid to use the facilities, those who have not paid, or stayed a few days ago and still expect to use the facilities are taking the opportunity away from those who are entiltled to use what they have paid for. I was a little surprised that you took umbrage, you were aware of the policy, before you started arranging any thing, then those not staying here coming with food and beer boxes and taking over a table. the outcome could only be one way, politeness would suggest you ask prior to them arriving with an expectation, that way you would not be disappointed in the outcome. We are a small hostel with limited space, space for guests, not others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hostel is on the road with all the other hostels and motels in town so does feel a little holidaypark-ish but that's a function of the town rather than the hostel. Everything works fine here, the rooms are clean and relatively spacious, as are the bathrooms, the kitchen and the communal areas. It is certainly a place that most would have no problem staying for a reasonable amount of time.

For some reason, I just felt it lacked a little atmosphere but I could not really say why as it has all of the ingredients for a great hostel. The full time staff seemed friendly enough, albeit a little stressed perhaps. They got a little mixed up with my room when I extended my stay so had to move room but that never really bothers me. The other staff were fellow travellers and were pleasant but it can be hit and miss with travel workers, normally as a function of the amount of alcohol consumed the night before...again, this is for all hostels and so not specific to Peppertree. The reviews of the lodge are generally pretty good so maybe I was just a little reserved this time around...as I said above, all the ingredients are there so maybe it just needs a little seasoning from time to time. As such take my three star review with a pinch of salt and see what you think.

As for activities in Paihia, I hiked to Taruru Falls, which is pretty easy going and worthwhile if you are stuck for things to do. The falls are ok but not overly impressive. I did however really enjoy doing the big circular walk to Opua where you can take a ferry across the bay ($1) and then walk to Russel before taking a later ferry back to Paihia ($7 if I remember correctly). That was a day well spent and I would gladly have spent longer in Russel. The town is a little too sleepy for the party goers but for a nice dinner over a sunset after a few hikes around the peninsula, it beats Paihia hands down. Regarding the walk, whilst I did it in flip flops, just beware that parts of the track to Opua may be a bit tricky at high tide as you can be climbing over slippery rocks...I ended up walking in the sea a little.

The farmers market in Paihia is great to pick up some fresh produce when its on (great avocados at $1.50 each and some tasty honey if that's your thing) and its definitely worth checking out Letz Cafe a couple shops down from the Movenpick. They offer a unique Ferrero Rocher ice cream that can not be missed if you are a fan of all things Nutella. The older gent and young woman working there are both lovely and I was happy spending a couple hours sitting outside sipping coffee and enjoying the ice cream.

Room Tip: Try get a bottom bunk, if staying in dorm rooms especially if you are tall as the top bunks are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
After reading your review I am not sure how to reply, some things such as atmosphere in the lodge are created by the folk staying at the time, and that can change in 1 day. When we have forward bookings with groups of 2 or 3, and others want to extend, we try not to move folk, but sometimes you have no choice, so not only do you get moved we also have a bit more housekeeping. But paihia is like that, so come and stay and stay and others keep on moving. The lodge is a purpose built back packers and most times folk seem to enjoy it here. Not sure if you did or did not, so come again so we will then both know, thumbs up or thumbs down.

regards

bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We shared a double room ensuite. The room actually had 1 double bed and 2 singles (bunks). The facilities were especially clean. Staff was very helpful in booking boat trip to Hole in the Rock and towards good restaurant across the street. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again.... regards bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 28 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#8 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.4 mi away
Centabay Lodge
Centabay Lodge
#21 of 28 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppertree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Lodge

Property: Peppertree Lodge
Address: 15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peppertree Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a purpose built backpackers, with 8 bed dorms using shared facilities, 4 bed dorms with own bathroom , doubles/twins that can sleep up to 4 people using shared facilities, doubles / twins that can sleep up to 4 people with own bathroom. We have a full well equipped kitchen , 50' tv with approx. 300 dvds, bbq area to allow you to grill our food, we have a tour desk for local tours, free access to 3 tennis courts, kayaks and bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppertree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing