We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, nice campground and great view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent service, nice campground and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

By chance we found this campground in Paihia. Enough space for a long campervan on one campsite. Great view, excellent view, clean sanitary.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

As well as complementing Andre and Olga on their excellent service, I would like to mention the fantastic job they have done in refurbishing and upgrading this establishment! Having stayed at the neighbouring campground two summers ago, we couldn't miss this eyesore. When we were looking for a family unit with kitchen facilities we came across the Falls Motel and once checking on this site and calling Andre we were reassured that it was a different motel.

It couldn't have been more perfect, the new beds and luxurious linen made for an excellent nights sleep, comfortable sofa, new flat screen TV and full kitchen made for a great family holiday. Andre and Olga were always milling about on the motel grounds, always checking that everyone was happy and if there was anything they could do to make our stay better.

We wish them luck with their business and would definitely recommend to anyone reading this review that you will not be disappointed here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pics0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Amazing location, really nice staff, we all loved staying next to the falls and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becs026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Thank you so much to Andre and Olga for their excellent service and understanding with our ever changing travel plans after my mother became sick in the UK and was unable to make the trip. After canceling and re-booking Andre and Olga were awesome and made everything so easy. On the day of arrival Andre and Olga went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and to make sure we had our baby cot ready. We were very demanding customers having Andre come to our room several times to fix the baby cot after collapsing it by getting it stuck in the doorway and when we just couldn't work out how to pop it open again! There was never a complaint from Andre and the service was outstanding. On one occasion the toilet got blocked and within 5 minutes Andre was in the room to assist. The complex was very tidy and appealing for families, we enjoyed the views and quiet nights. The rooms were basic and were being refurbished and Andre apologized for the doors rubbing on the new carpets. The only downsides were the doors rubbing on the carpet and the shower pressure and temperature changing. Kayaking was great at only $5 for an hour in the safe bay area around the falls. Settling the bill was easy and we would definitely return to the motel. Thanks again and good luck with your business! The Powells.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

This place has got all you need for a nice relaxing holiday, Travelling with 4 families and 5 kids we needed a place where kids and all can relaxnd enjoy whilst the elders can have a good time too.

The Motel has great outdoor space to hangout and BBQ. We enjoyed our time relaxing on the massive deck/dining table located on the gardenside.

The rooms are clean and have all the basic requirement, Pahia being a hub for outdoor water acticities we werent much bothered about the rooms not equipped with a lot of modern gadgetry!.

The owners are pleasing to deal with and always on their toe's to make the stay a pleasant one. Andre and Olge have what it takes to be perfect hosts.

I would highly recommend this motel and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

After a two night stay at the falls motel, I really wanted to share my thoughts with you. The owners, Andre and olga demonstrate that they really care for their customers and want to ensure they have an enjoyable stay. They are friendly, welcoming and knowledgable about the local area.

The 2 bedroom unit had plenty of space for two adults and two toddlers and was spotlessly clean. The unit had a huge balcony that overlooked the pool and had a beautiful view of the estuary and hills.

The location was perfect for exploring paihia and surrounding area.

A good choice for family friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

We came from England and met up with family over here.In all honesty wasn't a bad stay and the owner was very polite.We had a large family and the amenities were spot on.However we did spend a fantastic amount of money here and made use of all the gear available .My only gripe was the fact that they grumbled over a plate and cups which apparently went astray during our stay and a stain on the carpet. There was no worries about paying for our misdemeanours but when the manager tried to extort stupendous amounts out of my family for the crockery and stain thats when things went down hill.I can understand a few dollars for crockery but to replace a whole set ????..NO WAY.And then a specialist to clean carpet.YOU ARE HAVING A LAUGH ??? All in all the venue is great .But be weary and check the room before you leave or you might find yourself spammed with a huge bill JEZ

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeramie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallz, Owner at Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, the unit you stayed in (almost a year ago) had been newly refurbished and recarpeted a few weeks earlier, we tried to remove the stain ourselves and then spent $100 to get the "professionals" to clean it which is the bill we passed on to you, unfortunately the stain has had to be cut out which cost much more but a cost we did not pass on to you. We do not charge guests for the occasional breakage but when several items get lost it becomes difficult where to draw the line, we have to run a business and we appreciated yours, if you are ever back this way we would love to see you back. Kind regards, Andre and Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
3.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.9 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#40 of 44 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 29 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
3.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#7 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Property: Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Address: 336 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing