We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a fun place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have to admit that this place doesn't look like much when you pull in. Our room was older but everything was neat and very clean. The kids played in the pool and you can also borrow kayaks to paddle up to the waterfall. The staff was super friendly and helped us order delivery one night plus gave us lots of travel tips and directions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Waterfront Campsite. The view when we woke up in the morning was stunning as we looked right out onto the Haruru Waterfalls. The only sound that could be heard apart from the sound of the falls was the bird song.
What made our stay even more remarkable was the service we received from Peter, one of the owners. He was very welcoming and friendly when we first arrived. When we started to have trouble with our camper, he couldn't do enough for us. Not only did he find the source of our problem, but he managed to fix it as well - he certainly went well beyond and above any of our expectations. Thank you Peter, we will certainly be back to this beautiful spot and your amazing service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Margot214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The motel's winning point must be the view. From there we could see Haruru Falls and the lake. Facilities were great too: BBQ pit, swimming pool, kayak rental, children playground. There's also caravan parking by the lake.

Room was pretty basic but clean, with small bathroom and functional, equipped kitchen. The car park was directly in front of the rooms.

The owner was very friendly, giving us recommendations and tips to make our trip more memorable. We went on half day dolphin cruise and tried another route to drive to Paihia city centre on his advice and loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasantinterlude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We came for 1 night and stayed for 3 in our campervan. Such a relaxing place to be. Owners so friendly and helpful. Not quite warm enough for us to make use of the swimming pool. Facilities could do with a little upgrading but clean and all present and correct. Good base to explore the Pahia, Bay of Islands and Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverbankannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very friendly hosts and great place to stay if you want to explore the area. They were also very helpful with the local attractions and booking of trips. Camp ground was very clean and it was right next to the water and short distance to the waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Perfect views, perfect room, mint condition - absolute bliss. Couldnt recommend it highly enough for couples young or old, families or groups of friends. It is too far out of Paihia to walk but that wasnt a problem for us. I would highly recommend renting the Kayaks and going out on the river and falls.

Room Tip: We were pleased to pick the ground floor because it meant we could bagsie the bbq, jump in the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it.
Great location overlooking the falls - the units were spacious, very clean with great views; lovely pool and barbecue area.
Peter & his wife were so friendly and helpful - with advise on the area & trips & booking them for us.
I would recommend it to anyone & would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brynna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.0 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Property: Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Address: 336 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing