We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are not usually campers but we decided to give it a try. We were very impressed with the Falls Camp ground. We got put right on the waterfront and our site was quite a decent size also. Surprisingly quiet even though the camp ground is near the main road too. Loved the free WiFi each day (yes I know we are camping) haha and also the kayaks for hire. The only the room for improvement was the bathrooms, a little run down - needing some definite TLC. Only 5minutes to the centre of Paihia, location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 183 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family camped Waitangi Day the 6 Feb for 5 nights & absolutely loved every minute, the campsite is right on the Waters edge as advertised, with a spectacular view of the falls. The camp itself is compact, well kept and the amenities kept very clean & tidy by the friendly owners & their staff. We are not seasoned campers by any means & normally stay in motels, holidays homes etc but we loved our experience so much we are looking to go back b4 this summer ends.
Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were happy campers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

stumbled across this campsite and by far our favourite site to date on our travels, we booked an additional night and the staff are lovely and very helpful. reasonably priced and offers all the facilities you need, would recommend.

Thank Nia G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in the motel for two nights while visiting the Bay of Islands. The room was spacious and comfortable with a good kitchen and a dated but perfectly adequate shower room. The smallish swimming pool was kept clean and there was a gas barbecue for guests to use. The view from the terrace was a joy to wake up to, looking done the Waitangi river or up to the Haruru Falls. We hired (at a reasonable rate) a kayak from the mote/campgrounds and paddled down to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

The motel and campground are kept very clean and well maintained, and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

i tell you what, this place was absolutely drop dead gorgeous! lovely spot right on the water with really friendly hosts that made it a smooth easy relaxing holiday for us all. definitely recommend staying here for anything from a family holiday to a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a tent in the camping ground so this review is only for the camp part. Nice view of waterfall, relaxing, and good swimming. Facilities ok, but could do with a bit of a spruce up. Overall I would recommend this campground as a good place to base yourself when staying in Bay of Islands

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the falls campground for 4 1/2 days and had a great time. Andre was really helpful and accommodating. The facilities were immaculately clean, and more than adequate for our needs as as family of 2 adults and 3 kids. The free use of toasters and kettle were much appreciated! It is a very peaceful and relaxing base to explore from. The kids had a great time swimming under the waterfall and jumping off the rocks next to the falls.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchcamhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay of Islands Holiday park
0.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 336 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing