We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We originally booked 3 nights to stay at Falls Motel but loved it so much we cut out our next destination to stay a few nights longer! Paihia as a place is stunning and we could not have chosen better accomodation. The owners were amazing, especially Andre, who felt like a friend by the time we left. Nothing was ever a problem and he could not be more helpful with every aspect of our stay. The room we stayed in was fantastic, immaculate, spacious and spotlessly clean. We had a patio that overlooked the amazing Haruru Falls and the pool. We had a day or two of rain during our stay but still found plenty to do. I would recommend this place to anybody staying in Paihia. I honestly feel that it is overlooked because on the main strip in Paihia there are hotels/motels left, right and centre but just a few minutes away from this you will find Falls Motel.The views, the location, the hosts and the amazing value for money meant that our stay here was perfect. We are travelling around NZ at the moment and have so far stayed in alot of places. Falls Motel has squashed every single one of them, nothing as yet has beat it and I honestly don't think it will. We are already tailoring the end of our trip to go back and stay! So remember, if you are going to Paihia and want a beatuiful experience, follow the signs to Haruru Falls and just before you get there you will find this hidden gem. Happy Travels :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently on our honeymoon...and it was perfect! Out of town a bit but great location next to Haruru Falls. The room is simple but very clean and a few necessities like an electric kettle, French press, tea, etc. The small kitchen is great for preparing most meals. Great pool and cheap DVD rentals (in case of a rainy day). Andre was a fabulous host and set us up with Explore NZ tours (the best by the way) to Cape Reinga and a boat trip out in the islands. Overall a wonderful experience, I would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinsavages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Very accommodating hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Very reasonable rates. The bedding was excellent with a comfortable bed and quality bedding and drapes. Well equiped kitchen. Lovely view of falls and very quiet location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagslaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked into a two bed room apartment with a lovely view of the falls. The hosts were friendly and helpful and knew which local tours to suggest. The apartment was spacious and had most facillites ( no dishwasher, no hairdryer without asking and only soap as a toiletry).However, this was reflected in the pricing,with our two nights costing as much as one night every where else.The waterfall is loud but I love the sound of running water so can't advise whether closing the windows cuts off the sound. The shops and restaurants of Paihia are just a short drive away,

Room Tip: For the best views, book a second storey room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Had a great few days at Olga & Andre's motel in Haruru Falls. Quiet with a great view. Well set up for our family & great location away from the hussle & bustle of Paihia. Hosts were very friendly & went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. Gave us some great advice & saved us some money on our trip. Would recomment to friends & would stay again when in the area. All the best with the new baby!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Falls Motel was our first stop and what a great way to start our tour. Olga and Andre obviously put a lot of effort into making everything look clean, tidy and well cared for yet they were around for advice and suggestions. This personal touch made the Falls Motel more than just a motel so many thanks for the great welcome and making us feel so comfortable. Our room had a balcony view over the falls and was terrific value for money especially considering that this a popular holiday destination and there was a rugby World Cup on. I would certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Olga and Andre gave us the best 8 nights stay we have ever had in motels We came here after our son's wedding in Pahia. This is a fantastic place so quite and lovely view of the waterfalls.Olga and Andrea were ever so helpful to have the studio available at short notice for our son and family.We wouldn't want to stay at any other place when we return to Pahia.Thank Olga and Andres for going the extra mile We wish you well in the future

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#40 of 43 in Paihia
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground

Address: 336 Puketona Road | Haruru Falls, Paihia 0247, New Zealand (Formerly Haruru Falls Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $77 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views of Haruru Falls and lagoon, 7 studio units sleep 2-3 and 6x2 bedroom apartments sleep up to 7, fully s/c units with 32" LCD TVs, full kitchens and separate bathrooms, balcony or poolside patio. Swimming pool and barbecue area. Waterfront powered camper van and tent sites, safe private beach, historic jetty and wharf with blue water access. WiFi, Kayak hire, full booking service. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing