We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good had to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haruru Falls Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haruru Falls Resort
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good had to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family and I spent a night at Haruru Falls Resort (in a camper van) prior to the holidays starting - we had a great time and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much that on our way back down to Auckland, we stopped and spent another night there. I highly recommend this place! Hoping to go and stay in the hotel section next month!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avrill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    23
    24
    26
See reviews for
62
68
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The bedding beautiful and clean ...comfortable, plenty of hot water, run by a very friendly efficient family ..thoroughly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this to anyone and would visit again. Wonderful views of the falls. Owners very attentive asking if clean towels required daily!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

So we turned up at Bay of Island on New Years Eve, last minute trip planning. When we got to the information centre they said fully booked sorry, except this place who had a room for us. So no need to sleep in the car. A great location next to the falls and fully caters for family camping type holidays. The rooms even though recently upgraded are still pretty average, the double was two singles pulled together giving you that roll into the centre experience. It was New Year so minimum services on site so we ate in town. Would I go back again probably for camping only I think. But it was great to have a place to stay whilst there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here on one of our first days in NZ. Unfortunately it was very wet, raining on and on.
With campervan we stayed on the waterfront and site was good. Shower & toilets work, but can have a facelift. Looks outdated and not clean. Might be our experience in wet/raining conditions, but after this campsite we experienced many others and I wouldn't rate this one as the best, but average. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making arrangements!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have just returned from 7 nights are Haruru. While there one evening I entertained myself by reading every bad review listed on trip advisor. Rest assured most of the problems referred to no longer exist, but I will comment on most of them.
We had a premium 2 bedroom apartment and had friends staying in a basic family 2 bedroom unit. We had paid quite a bit extra and for the extra money our room was very nice. Lovely layout, perfect for 2 adults 2 children, beds good, bathroom good. Well appointed. Amazing view and private covered deck. Great pool and facilities for kids ( one of the reasons we booked). Our room was expensive, and its probably fair to say that perhaps you could get a similar room elsewhere for less money, but not with the same view and pool etc I would think. Our friends 2 bedroom unit was located right near us with the same great deck and view. But the difference in money was because of the room layout, smaller size, less well appointed. You get what you pay for, but if you were looking for a great view and deck etc for less money then these rooms would be fine.
While there I looked over the camping facilities. These must have been fixed up since the poor reviews a few years ago. Showers and toilets and kitchen were all clean and quite nice, not smelly or dark. However there are only 3 showers and toilets for quite a few campers but I never saw any queues. It could be that a lot of the campervans have their own showers etc.
Management were very keen to please. We did comment on the first day about our shower pressure - this was fixed instantly and a free bottle of wine and chocolates given to us - I was very surprised as it was only a minor inconvenience.
The units are advertised as serviced daily and for the price they should be. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and happy to do whatever asked, but were quite relaxed and often just provided fresh towels at the door. We were happy with this, but the other family that we were staying with were disappointed on the days that there beds etc were not made. This is an advertised service and at the price should happen every day. The owners dog was very cute and at no time came anywhere near our room - the owner was very clear to us that he must not come in and showed us the signal to keep him at the door if he happened to walk past.
Overall I thought the place was great. The big pool is amazing and trampoline, chess set, waters edge, children's playground in and around the pool fantastic.

Book a 2 bedroom premium unit and you won't be disappointed, you should check the price against other similar properties and consider if you are happy with it or not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Thank you for a very pleasant 4 day stay
Comfortable unit , very comfortable sleep
The Christmas dinner was beyond our expectations
Fabulous outlook over lawns on to river falls.
Highly recommend
All round good experience

Room Tip: Bus trip to Cape Renga with highlight along the 90 mile beach , Pickup from the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in our motor home in August and we had a magic time. Our camping site backed onto the lagoon with the falls as our vista. We found it to be a "slice of heaven". The owner(hostess) made us feel very welcome and she sat with us in the lounge and we shared stories over a glass of wine in the evenings. The lagoon had so many faces, from misty mornings to picturesque sunsets, with an abundance of bird life. We drifted to sleep every night with the gentle flow of the falls. This was one of the highlights of our New Zealand holiday and we highly recommend staying here. Thank you to our host, from Barbara and Graham Miller, Queensland, Australia

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1.9 mi away
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
#34 of 44 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
2.3 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
2.7 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#7 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haruru Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haruru Falls Resort

Property: Haruru Falls Resort
Address: Old Wharf Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haruru Falls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haruru Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haruru Falls Hotel Paihia
Haruru Falls Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing