We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had to ask for toilet paper, room not vacuumed once in a week. Coffee cups were not clean on arrival and only rinsed while there. Roof had mould near the bathroom also. Is cheap and easy walk to town if these are over looked or you get a room without mould

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 194 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Quite a good hotel to stay in my only complaint would be the 3 tv channels available and no free wifi although you can get it outside the local library. Its not too far to walk to the sea front. It has a small swimming pool thar you have to prebook before you use it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanstacey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The rooms are reasonabily priced with friendly front office staff and good clean rooms just a coulpe of things only 3 tv channels and too much noise from room above so don't stay on ground floor. There is both a restaurant and spa on site to use

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

really lovely staff but fail to see how it meets the "well appointed" claims. Not even a bottle opener, 1 teaspoon and a telly that was old. no sky available, 4 almost trusty channels. Room had been well used and was tired. Nice (older) spa pool and the bed was decent and it was clean. But honestly only 1 step up from a backpackers not even motel standard. Shower was great.

Room Tip: it is central, large amount of rooms so let staff know if you need a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We used a *grab one* voucher which offered 'pay for 1 night stay for 2 nights'. What a disappointment to not be able to watch the All Blacks v South Africa rugby in the comfort of our room. It was pouring with rain and the wind was blowing gales and we had to make our way along the wet corridor to the public lounge to watch. They dont open the diningroom for dinner and also no breakfast. The reason given was that the hotel was too quiet at this time of the year (Sept 2012) Never to return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We normally stay in Motels, as we like having a kitchenette.. but Wotif had a special so we grabbed it.
Paihia is a lovely place and a great place to stay. This Hotel is clean and modern. a decent shower. and lovely soft sheets!
only 3 channels on the telly... but I guess that will change once freeview comes in?
The tv in the lounge didn't offer much more.. unless you're into sport :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour group. The location of the hotel was good, with just a few minutes walk to the centre of town. The rooms were warm and beds comfy. A particular highlight was the powerful shower with hot water in good supply. Unfortunately the breakfast was disappointing with a poor selection available. Being out of season we also found that the town’s shops and restaurants closed early, so finding dinner after being out on an all-day tour was a tad tricky. Unfortunately the hotel’s restaurant wasn’t open during our stay.

Overall a good sleep had by all, I’d consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.7 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.3 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $65 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing