We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good hotel to stay in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good hotel to stay in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Quite a good hotel to stay in my only complaint would be the 3 tv channels available and no free wifi although you can get it outside the local library. Its not too far to walk to the sea front. It has a small swimming pool thar you have to prebook before you use it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanstacey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    34
    22
    19
See reviews for
29
73
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
297 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The rooms are reasonabily priced with friendly front office staff and good clean rooms just a coulpe of things only 3 tv channels and too much noise from room above so don't stay on ground floor. There is both a restaurant and spa on site to use

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

really lovely staff but fail to see how it meets the "well appointed" claims. Not even a bottle opener, 1 teaspoon and a telly that was old. no sky available, 4 almost trusty channels. Room had been well used and was tired. Nice (older) spa pool and the bed was decent and it was clean. But honestly only 1 step up from a backpackers not even motel standard. Shower was great.

Room Tip: it is central, large amount of rooms so let staff know if you need a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paihia hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We used a *grab one* voucher which offered 'pay for 1 night stay for 2 nights'. What a disappointment to not be able to watch the All Blacks v South Africa rugby in the comfort of our room. It was pouring with rain and the wind was blowing gales and we had to make our way along the wet corridor to the public lounge to watch. They dont open the diningroom for dinner and also no breakfast. The reason given was that the hotel was too quiet at this time of the year (Sept 2012) Never to return!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We normally stay in Motels, as we like having a kitchenette.. but Wotif had a special so we grabbed it.
Paihia is a lovely place and a great place to stay. This Hotel is clean and modern. a decent shower. and lovely soft sheets!
only 3 channels on the telly... but I guess that will change once freeview comes in?
The tv in the lounge didn't offer much more.. unless you're into sport :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour group. The location of the hotel was good, with just a few minutes walk to the centre of town. The rooms were warm and beds comfy. A particular highlight was the powerful shower with hot water in good supply. Unfortunately the breakfast was disappointing with a poor selection available. Being out of season we also found that the town’s shops and restaurants closed early, so finding dinner after being out on an all-day tour was a tad tricky. Unfortunately the hotel’s restaurant wasn’t open during our stay.

Overall a good sleep had by all, I’d consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Kirra Tour. Pleasant hotel in great location within 5 min walk of centre of town. Room Decor seemed a little tired, as was the bathroom. Large room with adequate facilities. Only 3 TV channels. Friendly staff. Dinner was good - pleasant and reasonable taste and choices (buffet style). May choose somewhere different if i do visit the bay of islands again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#19 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#12 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Property: Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing