We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Kirra Tour. Pleasant hotel in great location within 5 min walk of centre of town. Room Decor seemed a little tired, as was the bathroom. Large room with adequate facilities. Only 3 TV channels. Friendly staff. Dinner was good - pleasant and reasonable taste and choices (buffet style). May choose somewhere different if i do visit the bay of islands again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    33
    22
    19
See reviews for
28
71
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great location with only a 2 minute walk down the road to the township. Room was beautifully set up, with beautiful bedding. Has a spa but pool is not heated and not really suited for children. Didn't have a chance to try the buffet dinner or breakfast, but what was served looked great!

Overall, highly recommended A+

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georg1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is about a 2 minute walk (if that) to the main street of Paihia. It's at the bottom of the hill too, so there's not much uphil walking involved. You're also in walking distance to the jetty which is where all the day trips for the Bay of Islands leave from. There's a nice little place not too far either on the street that runs parallel to the main street called Pipi Patch! And a cute little restaurant a little further down called Tito's!

The rooms were nice as well, althought there isn't much of a sound barrier between you and the people talking outside, we got woken up quite a few times by the other people in our group, and the walls were very thin we could hear the conversation on the other side of the room, but the beds and room itself, I couldnt fault :)

There isn't really any point paying for breakfast either, as all they gave us was toast and "fresh" fruit, but it was just out of a can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoejanaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Seemed like a cheap and tidy place was within walking distance to town centre. We stayed for two nights and it was ok as we were out most of the day vesting the bay of islands. The bedroom had an extra bed and hence the room a little cramp.

The room was very basic. If you opened the bathroom window at the back, the mosquitoes came in.
The swimming pool (which we did not use) is far from the impression on the website being on the large side. We used the hot tub, which we enjoyed after a whole day out, but did not find it very private.

The staff was very friendly and the restaurant food choice was good.
We would not mind staying here again if the price is right

Room Tip: If downstairs room ensure you keep the back window shut as mosquitoes may be the unwanted species.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Well the room had kind of a old look. It had a deserted kind of feel there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Got a discount for the room & so glad we stayed there for our holiday. The hotel may seem a bit out of the way but really, it's less than 10 mins' walk to town & to the ferry point. Staff was friendly and helpful & room was comfortable. Camera left behind was also returned which I'm so grateful of as all our holiday pictures were in it. A great tip I also appreciated from the staff was the best place to see the Haruru Falls - at the Resort Panorama, where anyone can just enter & view. There's also a happy church next door if you are looking for one. The joyful music drew me there & I attended it. So, good experience overall and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was here for 4 nights the room was tidy and good to see another place using the option of if you want to have your sheets and towels changed every day. The only things wrong is the carpet has an iron burn in it and the shower door did not close properly so all the towels were always used to clean up the water. But would stay there again overall it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firedog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#11 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Property: Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing