We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice staff, good location, value for money.”
Review of Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Got a discount for the room & so glad we stayed there for our holiday. The hotel may seem a bit out of the way but really, it's less than 10 mins' walk to town & to the ferry point. Staff was friendly and helpful & room was comfortable. Camera left behind was also returned which I'm so grateful of as all our holiday pictures were in it. A great tip I also appreciated from the staff was the best place to see the Haruru Falls - at the Resort Panorama, where anyone can just enter & view. There's also a happy church next door if you are looking for one. The joyful music drew me there & I attended it. So, good experience overall and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 194 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was here for 4 nights the room was tidy and good to see another place using the option of if you want to have your sheets and towels changed every day. The only things wrong is the carpet has an iron burn in it and the shower door did not close properly so all the towels were always used to clean up the water. But would stay there again overall it's ok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firedog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

A cheap and clean hotel, a little out of the way but still within walking distance of the town centre. Friendly staff. The only negative was an overpriced continental breakfast that was very ordinary in quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebraska51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place was such a bargain and thf reviews mixed so I had no expectations of anything great-but was very pleasantly surprised! Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating and the room was clean with a new bathroom and comfy beds.

No complaints and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldylocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Not a great stay although we had a reasonable price for this popular tourist resort.
To be fair it is in a good position, only a short walk from all amenities and the room was clean. However, our room had 3 beds which made it very cramped.The decor was dated and there was little if any soundproofing.The maid was cleaning the room upstairs very early and woke us up before we were ready. The TV remote didn't work and the fridge was a little smelly. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASTACARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel in Paihia...a beautiful coastal town in the bay of Islands. The hotel pricing is good value for money($90/night at a peak February weeekend)...rooms sleep three and are not flash, but adequate and in keeping with it's star rating. It is centrally located (without views) and has the usual facilities of restaurant, swimming pool etc.

Rates seem cheapest when booked directly with the hotel, but wotif and needitnow also have similar room rates.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We loved the Bay of Islands and were happy with the Hotel. It's very good value for money as you are not paying a premium for a top location. The walk into Pahia only took a few minutes and Pahia has some wonderful places to eat. The only downside was that the room was so hot so if anything the only thing the Hotel could do to improve things is to install air conditioning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlieharvey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Paihia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing