We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful you might not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
unknown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Be careful you might not want to leave”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The bays is a really nice place to be in during Winter. The Mousetrap is one of the backpackers located on Kings Road, along with many of the other Backpackers in the same street. It is 5-10 minutes walk to the pier/information centre. Operated by Jake and Nikki, they are mostly onsite or somewhere around the hostel. One of the couple of hostels open during winter, there is always backpackers moving in and out of the hostel.

The dorm rooms are one the first and second level. The rooms are clean and tidy with all linen provided. All rooms come with a heater. Note that the heater is timer-operated and only works from 7pm - 8am. I felt that the heater pump was not really effective. The beds do have a thick duvet and this is usually enough for a very warm and cosy sleep at night. The doors to the room are squeaky and need oiling. Huge lockers are available in the room for backpackers to store their backpacks. If you want to secure your belongings, you will need to bring a lock.

The toilets and bathrooms are separate which is good for a dorm when many are staying. There is no heater in them and on winter nights, with only the window to block out the wind and cold, it can get rather cold. The taps for hot and cold water are separate, which means that when you open either taps, either you get frostbite or your hands get burnt.

There are 3 lounges and 3 kitchens for guests to prepare their meals. In the winter, there are cosy fireplaces burning in 2 of the lounges on the third level during winter. Most of the guests cook their meals in these 2 lounges as well. Though small, it creates a very nice atmosphere for travellers and backpackers to get to know one another, as well as a lovely place to simply chill out. The lounge on the third level facing the Kings Road has a nice view of the Bay.

Bicycles are available for free should you need them for exploration of the bay. At this moment, you get free 20mb of internet for each night you stay, but am not sure if this will be the case for summer as well. The best time to come to the bay is during winter when you can appreciate the lovely surroundings without the hustle and bustle of the crowds in the summer. If you come to the bays, you must come to the Mousetrap. Like they say on their website, be careful you might not want to leave! Indeed I felt this way when I was leaving! Will definitely come back again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jayellearezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
32
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really nice family run hostel. Dorms are downstairs and private rooms are upstairs. There are multiple lounges and kitchens on different levels plus a lovely balcony with view of the sea and a nice garden. Facilties were clean and well kept. We had a double room which was really comfortable and homey. We would have loved to have stayed longer if we had the time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, sadly I could only stay one night as I was coming to the end of my stay in New Zealand.

It has a very homely feel to it and the staff who run it are very helpful. Dorms are clean and have big lockers for you to store your bags and valuables in. There are lots of nice socials areas to hang out in and the best bit is probably the balcony with the view of the bay. Sadly the weather wasn't that great when I was here but never mind.

Its on the same street as a lot of the other backpackers so you are pretty close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsten87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My stay at The Mousetrap was amazing! Jake who owns the place is really kind and helpful. The rooms are clean, the kitchens are clean and the service is really good. You feel like you are at home there, because it is a family business. I would definitely recommend The Mousetrap to people who want to spend time in Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celinece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Don´t let the name of the hostel or the battered sign outside put you off. It´s actually a nautical themed hostel inside!

Stayed here wth our campervan-parked in the car park and used all the facilites. The owner is very friendly and happy to help with booking tours etc.

The common areas are really nice and homeley and the downstairs kitchen seating area is really cosy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessi_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

nice and clean, lovely location. Really nice nautical theme running throughout. Owner was helpful with booking trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights over New Year's, we love the Mousetrap! This was my third visit and even with the rain we had a lovely time. Jake as always was great, helped us find a day hike near by. Centrally located, clean & quiet, friendly atmosphere, plenty of spots to lounge, cook, eat & relax. Plus the fireworks from the deck to ring in 2012, priceless!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#9 of 30 in Paihia
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#26 of 30 in Paihia
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mousetrap Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mousetrap Backpackers

Property: The Mousetrap Backpackers
Address: 11 Kings Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Mousetrap Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mousetrap Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing