We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beautiful Blue of the Bay of Islands with Te Kaihau Yacht Charters”

Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Blue of the Bay of Islands with Te Kaihau Yacht Charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you really want to see the Bay of Islands up close, sign up for an all-day with Tom, Skipper of Te Kaihau, a beautiful red trimaran. Our day started early with a quick ride in a baby dingy out to the tri. In no time, we had cast off, motored for maybe 10 minutes clearing the harbor and hoisted the sails. The rest of the day was under sail across the beautiful seas of the Northlands. Hugging the coastline we tracked southward to a beautiful deserted cove where we were able to swim to the beach and hunt for shells. Tom, the sweetest man ever had a delightful lunch waiting after our swim back to the boat. Tom is incredibly knowledgable about his boat, New Zealand, history, botany, fishing,.... just about anything. On following seas, the tri really showed us what it could do. Back at Pahia by 4:00 with huge smiles; our highlight experience at the Bay of Islands. Sadly, I could only give Sail te Kaihau five stars; they deserve more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
many thanks for your kind words of praise for te kaihau and myself cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a daytrip, great value for your buck & so much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Well greeted by Tom then quickly onto his huge yacht with an amazing size in area to move around on you could sit around the wheel and listen to Tom's excellent knowledge of the area and the you could just go lay in the netting which I did for an hour or so letting a wonderful day just float through my body, you could just go for a swim then a wonderful lunch on board as we seem to go a lot further out than other charters due to the speeds we got to but very graceful speeds no bumps just cut through the water, so overall for the money spent per person this would have to rate as the best trip in our top 5 we have done in our lifetime and have travelled worldwide so well done to Tom we will be passing onto others your great secret of a day charter and the other thing there was only 4 of us so it made it even more value for the buck, great day great value great skipper great views THANKS

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel-hehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Guys many thanks for your great review its always good to read a good review glad you enjoyed a little history of the Bay of Islands and thank you for your words on the way te kaihau sails i think you got it rite even if i am a bit biased cheers team for an enjoyable day out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful overnight trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Booking an overnight trip with Tom on his yacht turned out to be one of the best experiences we had in New Zealand. He took us to some beautiful remote spots and beaches, around the bay of islands and gave us great insights on local facts. Of course we got a crash course in sailing too, which was incredible! Tom built the yacht himself, which makes it something really special. We went snorkelling, did some fishing and even saw a shark. The delicious home baked goods were thevperfect addition to a perfect trip. Thank you, Tom!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tillie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
its just the best to have a night away on the boat see more do more and good food always helps Good luck Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Daytrip exceeded our expectations - highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

An outstanding experience and we can recommend the Sailing Trip with Tom to everyone who likes to learn about sailing but also enjoy the nice scenery of the Bay of Islands. Tom is really nice, very patient, knowledgable and a great host. We felt at home instantly. Tom build the boat by himself which is very impressive as the boat is quite big and looks very professional. We were a very small group of four, which we liked very much as we did not want to go on a tour with many other tourists. Everybody in our group was able to steer the wheel according to Toms directions for about half an hour each - and this was an amazing feeling! We also went snorkeling and had a nice lunch with sandwiches afterwards. After the trip Tom also sat down with us and gave us many many valuable tips for our further journey - he really took good care of us :) We still think a lot about him when we try out all his little advices - thank you (Elliot Bay was awesome!)!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christiane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
thanks for your kind words and great to hear you checked out a few of the sights we talked about cheers tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic day sailing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We left Paihia at 10am and returned at 6pm. Tom made us very welcome, you didn't feel as if you were on the boat with a stranger it was as if we had known him for ages. Tom was also very knowledgable about the area, we were allowed to help out with the sailing. Lunch was good washed down with a nice cup of tea. Great day out and good value.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
great to hear of your fantastic day out on te kaihau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Te Kaihau Yacht Charters day trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing