We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good little place, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bella Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Bella Motel
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good little place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Its a little round the corner from the backpackers and a little way from some of the restaurants (Don't eat in the Saltwater lodge bar around the corner) but the guynwas really helpful and friendly and made us feel really at home.

We had a nice two bed apartment, with some views, but mainly cosy with a nice TV, bathroom and everything.

They have a swimming pool and Spa, we didn't try either as came when it was freezing weather! But the care taken in the cleanliness of the place meant the pool looked great!

A nice little place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank egrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights over Queens birthday weekend. At a great rate I found the room better than at other (more expensive) motels I have stayed. What I liked were the free WiFi, that there was shampoo (not all motels seem to have this) and a spa pool and pool. Hosts were friendly and it was nice and quiet at night. Only a few minutes walk from the harbour it was the perfect location to discover the Bay of Islands. I also found the decor was very nice and a bit different from the usual motel decor. I also liked that there was flyspray, although I didn't need it.

Great place, can only recommend and hope I get to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnenscheinchen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

A friend and I spent our first 2 nights in New Zealand here. I had done quite a bit of research online trying to find an inexpensive but quality motel that was close - but not too close - to the central area of town. I was impressed with the way the owner answered my emails each time with a thoughtful answer, at one point even including some photos of the view from our balcony. We arrived quite weary after the international flight and 3-hour drive, and the place was peaceful and welcoming. For awhile it seemed like we were constantly in the office needing this or that, but never made to feel like we were a bother. I totally enjoyed relaxing in the spa bath! It was also handy being able to walk to town center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Enjoyed our two night stay here. Short walk to town. Nice and quiet. Great plunger coffee was a nice suprise in our room! Great shower. Good water pressure! and the spa and free wifi in our room was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nygen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

After a long bike trip this was a lovely little motel to check into. Friendly owner to help with check-in. Nice spa pool to relax in. Everything clean and tidy to a high standard. Easy flat walk to all restaurants and bars in a quite street. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to
Paihia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive review Johan. It was a pleasure having you and hope we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for one week with my family and it has been the best holiday so far!
The hosts were very friendly, talkative and generous, allowing us to borrow their tennis equipment and key to use the tennis court next door as well as their double kayak, which made a great day out for my family. Every evening after our fun days of adventuring, we would make full use of the BBQ, pool and spa area.
Everything is so close, but far enough to be away from the noisy town centre, the rooms are also very clean, which in my experience is hard to come by.

We are looking forward to our next stay and would definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katrina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

After long day of travel, late evening arrival, looking for place to stay. We ran into this Casa Bella Motel, with friendly nice manager, reasonable prices, clean room, and very nice kichenette. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Motel

Property: Casa Bella Motel
Address: 3 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Bella Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Units all with kitchenettes. Pool, Spa pool, free wi-fi, Sky Guest select TV channels, including sport, 40 or 32 inch LCD TVs, free car parking, tennis courts, free kayak hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paihia
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing