We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassa Bella Motel Review”
Review of Casa Bella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Bella Motel
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked into this Motel going from what the pictures and the reviews were. When booking, I asked if the Swimming Pool was available for use and was told yes. When we arrived, the receptionist questioned our deposit. Next morning, the owners didn't know what was available with regards to attractions. The swimming pool was disgusting. It was green and had dead bugs floating in it. The other Motels that had pools were lovely and clean and had people swimming in them. As we had specifically wanted the use of a pool, I was very disappointed. On night one, there was a massive black spider in the bed. The kitchen had ants everywhere and no food was out. Considering what we paid, I was extremely disappointed. I feel that the pictures on the web page are not a true representation of the Motel. I would have thought that at such a peak holiday time that the Pool would look like the pictures and be usable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review Jannine. I'm sorry the pool wasn't at it's best. It's the busiest time of the year for us and I didn't respond quickly enough to it's deterioration. Increased usage and temperature meant it needed more chlorine than usual. I have since rectified it and it is clear and clean. I will be more vigilant in future.
We spray entry points to try and keep out insects but some are very resilient. Spiders always seem to be able to sneak in when doors and windows are open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed the outdoor spa tub. Very clean unit. Quiet neighbourhood very close to the restaurants and beach. Gary and Jocelyn were very helpful. They have guest laundry and DVD players upon request. While you're in Paihia, I recommend going to the falls nearby & walking along the river by the falls. We did this on a rainy day which was fine as the tree coverage was so dense the rain didn't get through. The swimming pool is small (about the size of a car so no swimming laps;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianKeyesFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely motel with very helpful hosts. The room was spotless and the kitchenette well equipped for us to cook some meals for ourselves. It is a short walk to the wharf, to central Paihia and to restaurants. It has a nice looking pool, but it was too cold to swim when we were there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the weekend. We found the motel room to be clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The property was within easy walking distance of cafes and restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingwithsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I just spent two nights here on a weekend away with my mum. The unit had everything we needed, was clean with new carpet and comfortable beds, quiet and fairly central to everything. We could walk to shops, the beach and restaurants and even to catch the ferry over to Russell. The hosts were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here over the Labour Day long weekend - was quite busy in Paihia at the time. This hotel is well located close to town but just enough away that you don't get the noise. Parking a little tight but right in front of room - potplants get in the way a bit of getting luggage in if most parks are taken as they were on this weekend. Room itself was spacious with a kitchen bench area and separate area for bathroom basin leading to toilet and shower. Nice hosts - a good stay overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this motel for one "big weekend" (weekend with public holiday on Monday). The place is good, big room with all facilities in the kitchen, electric blanket, heater, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpfully. The motel is near to the beach, and lots of good restaurants to visit. The bedroom was a little bit cold (even I turn on the electric blanket) and the swimming pool and spa pool was not open for us, I don't know why.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica_Guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Casa Bella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you found the room a bit cold. We could have given you an extra heater if you had asked. I'm not sure why you thought the spa and pool were not available, the spa was quite popular with the other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#18 of 43 in Paihia
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#26 of 43 in Paihia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Motel

Address: 3 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Bella Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Units all with kitchenettes. Pool, Spa pool, free wi-fi, Sky Guest select TV channels, including sport, 40 or 32 inch LCD TVs, free car parking, tennis courts, free kayak hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Bella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paihia
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing