We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value motel”
Review of Casa Bella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Bella Motel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We spent two nights in Paihia over the Easter break. We booked a queen studio room, which was small-ish but adequate for the two of us. There was a kitchenette which included a fridge, toaster microwave and hotplates which we used to prepare breakfast. The bathroom was small and the showerhead wasn't very effective, but it was clean and the towels were nice.
The motel is on the outskirts of Paihia, but close enough to walk to the centre of town. We didn't find out about the spa until we were leaving, so didn't get a chance to try it. It was also sometimes noisy in the mornings as other guests were leaving.
Overall, a good value stay for the region.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in January. Price was reasonable, unit was clean. Easy to walk to shops and staff were helpfull. The pool looked a bit on the small side but what the heck it was raining and we did'nt use it anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

It was so nice to stop in on the way back from Cape Reinga and have a relaxing evening at the Casa Bella Motel. Upon arrival at the Motel Irene and Karina greeted us with a warm friendly welcome. The check in was a breeze and Irene helped us to our room, checking we were all settled and happy before leaving us to do our own thing. The pool looked a bit cold but there was a crazy British man braving it, it was good to see that it was nice and clean and well kept even though there wouldn’t be too many people wanting to swim at this time of year. After consulting the in room information book we decided to follow one of the recommendations of the owners and headed out for a lovely take-away Indian which we sat at the end of the Paihia pier and ate as we watched the small fish darting around in the water. We headed back to the motel and poured a couple of drinks (very nice to see the ice trays full in the freezer) and opted for the other swimming option, the nice heated spa pool. We grabbed a couple of spa towels from reception and went and relaxed in the semi private spa until closing time at about 10pm. After that we went and crashed out on the nice comfy bed and watched some TV on the wall mounted TV. Woke up the next morning after feeling very well rested, dashed down to the dairy to get the ingredients for a nice breakfast, and just had to stop and enjoy a coffee at the beach on the way back, made use of the in room cooking facilities and had eggs Benedict before taking a nice warm, shower with plenty of pressure and some good quality eco friendly hygiene products available. After that unfortunately it was time to check out, with a friendly farewell from Irene, I know we will definitely be back next time we head to Paihia. This is a great Motel with not a single thing I could fault, great value for money with a warm friendly atmosphere and great facilities. Close to everything you might need for the perfect getaway.

Found their facebook page, lots of photos and comments there too, and friendly to keep in contact with on there.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bungeedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a queen studio room. It was a ground floor room at the far end of the site, with allocated car parking right outside. It was also by the external stairs to the first floor & we did get a bit of noise in from people using them; it was noticable, but not intrusive.

We found the room to be acceptable, but there were no comfortable chairs in which to relax - the dining chairs were not suitable for resting in. We though the main room was OK, but a bit worn, & the wardrobe & kitchen units seemed to have been repainted.

There was a good selection of cooking utensils etc, & the iron & kettle were rather new. There was a microwave & 2 ring hob.

The bathroom was good, with toiletries provided in sachets. There were no curtains at the 2 bathroom windows - there were frosted - but we felt there was little privacy when the lights were on. There were well-used tennis courts at the rear of the block & if we could see the players, then maybe they could see us????

There is a laundry. The wash powder was free of charge, & each wash load & each dry load was NZ$4 - using $2 coins.

We slept well each night of our stay - the room was serviced while we were out: something we were not expecting.

There is a small swimming pool, & you can wash cars up on the main road by the gate.

Plenty of bars & restaurants within walking distance - we favoured the Beach House in King Street: promos on beer & wines. Jam session on Sunday evenings.

We would stay at Casa Bella again if we revisit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We spend 10 days at the Casa Bella Motel after travelling around the North Island. Had a lovely time at the Casa Bella Motel. It was so convenient to the beach and was just a little stroll approx 100meters away from nice bars and restaurants (many a happy night spent at the beach house). The staff were so helpful and even offered us a move to a larger room at no extra cost because of the length of our stay. Also gave us a little Xmas present when we were leaving. Not 5* but very clean and was cleaned daily. All in all had a great time.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Gail006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

It was a very nice place to stay. Lovely motel with good facilities. The location was perfect as it is close to the beach and the town center. The room was comfortable. However I do find the staff quite rude and have said things that are inappropriate. Although I did like the room, there were bugs which was disgusting. I believe we were not treated fairly. Even though the hotel does not allow pets, I have still seen one.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris78962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Our reservation started on a positive note when, after doing laps of the town trying to find a car park, we arrived and asked to park in our allocated spot before checking in and before our Dolphin Cruise. That was no trouble for the owner who was more than agreeable and accommodating throughout our stay.

Our Studio room offered plenty of room for the two of us and would more than adequately serve guests wishing to self-cater.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamdeBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#24 of 43 in Paihia
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ash Grove Boutique Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Motel

Address: 3 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Bella Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Units all with kitchenettes. Pool, Spa pool, free wi-fi, Sky Guest select TV channels, including sport, 40 or 32 inch LCD TVs, free car parking, tennis courts, free kayak hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Bella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paihia
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing