We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location!!!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located, close to shops, restaurants & bars and right on the water front with stunning views. No complaints, the room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The room rate was very reasonable!! We had a great stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    210
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
226
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Kingsgate is a great place to say and the location couldn't be better, you are just a short walk to shops, cafes, bars and just over the road from the ferry to Russell.The hotel pool, gym and games room are really good. Room was very basic nothing fancy but kept to a good clean standard. Fridge in room and tea & coffee provided along with bathroom products. The only problem I did find with the room was there was no draws to put cloths in, so if you are stopping for a few nights like we did you have to keep thing in the suit case. I also found that there was a great bar with a very nice lounge area but the lounge was only accessible when the bar was open from 4pm onwards, there was no other lounge area for the guest to sit if the weather was not to good. We were luck and had great weather so sat at the pool area which is really good. All in all I would still return here as it was a great place and staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 345 which was on 2nd floor and had a small balcony and got the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate what you say about lack of drawers but we find that people tend to leave things behind in drawers. The lounge in the bar can be accessed through reception throughout the day. There is also seating in reception.
We look forward to accommodating you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is best located by the sea and away from the small town areas on both side, so that you can enjoy a bit of quiet moment in the evening.

Room is clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant is great and view from there is great. Get a window seat and you'll be able to enjoy your meal in magnificent sunset. At night, you can stand outside the court, look up to the sky and can find the Milky Way!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwcng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Bedroom was excellent - very convenient lay out, the lighting, temp control and bed and pillow were great!!! Very surprising with the reasonable price! Big table and desk were nice to have in the room and newly renovated bathroom was great.


Room was clean, staff were very friendly. The game room and spa were very entertaining we used them every night of our stay. Only down side was the spa pool was in the private room and you have to make a booking in advance.

I would like to visit again if I go to Paihia again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeLee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We find that people prefer to have the privacy of using the spa pool on their own rather than making it public.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wow what a lovely hotel, the bay if Islands is a must but so is this hotel. So lovely to stay here. Meals excellent pool warm and it was a cloudy day when I tried it. Staff so friendly and the room was large and clean. Would definitely stay here another time thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in February for one night and were really pleased with what the hotel offered in comparison to other hotels that we looked at. It was cheaper, very good central location with easy walk to the restaurants/shops. We drove to a beach for swimming, but the pool out the front of the hotel would have been a good option if we didnt want to swim in the sea. The cleaning of the room could have been better, long hairs on the floor in the bathroom were a bit off putting and the bed was ridiculously soft, but all and all a good option for staying right in the heart of Paihia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay however we will remind our housekeepers of the importance ensuring that our rooms are cleaned correctly. We will be inspecting all our beds this winter.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Kingsgate Autolodge is located in the centre of Paihia township right across from the main beach. They have a large range of rooms available. My room would be classed as a studio with two double beds in one main room. There is plenty of room with a wall mounted table with two chairs. The room is upstairs (Two level complex) so it has a balcony that you can enjoy. Being upstairs also means that you can leave the ranch-slider door to the balcony open without the concern of anyone walking in or having people walking passed (We always ask for upstairs rooms where ever we stay). The room has air-conditioning, and limited time free WiFi (100mb's) however you can purchase more. The bathrooms are very modern and are well supplied. The shower is all glass which adds a quality feel especially as some motel/hotels still have shower curtains over the bath tub. There is a fridge with tea and coffee making facilities, and the room is very clean. The restaurant has fantastic views of the beautiful harbour, and the swimming pool is at the front also allowing for views of the harbour. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. It is an easy walk to other eateries in the town, and a supermarket is only a couple of minutes drive away. The Autolodge is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing