We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

It's a little bit dated, but it was a very clean beach hotel with a nice bar and restaurant. We had the do not disturb and the cleaning staff left toiletries and towels at the door. Reception, bar, and restaurant staff were all very friendly. They reception, pool, bar, and restaurant had amazing views! Overall we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 522 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Waterfront location and easy walk to most places in Paihia. Handy to shops, restaurants and ferry terminal. Waitangi Treaty Ground about 10 minutes walk away. Safe, sandy beach only a few minutes walk away.
Hotel itself is comfortable with clean rooms and outdoor pool. Indoor spa booked in half hour allotments for privacy. Hotel has restaurant on top floor with view across the bay. Outdoor lift arrangement seen, but if you have disability, I'd suggest asking for a ground floor room as there are stairs to the top floor rooms.
Public wifi is questionable in the lobby, sometimes signal, sometimes no signal.
Fridge in room. Large supermarket a few minutes drive around the corner from hotel. Parking is available outside the rooms.
This is an average hotel and good value for the area, but location is the best aspect.

Room Tip: Top floor with corner window has view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydaus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Thank you to all the Team who made our Honeymoon a very special time!!! Loved it!! Swam in the pool, relaxed in the Spa, welcomed as the Honeymooners in the Restaurant where we enjoyed a mouthwatering dinner and refreshing breakfast, met an awesome waitress who took beautiful photos of us and most of all taken full care of from Matawaia at reception...Thanks heaps Brian and Vicky-Jean Taurarii xo

Room Tip: The 400+ Suites definitely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VjBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed overnight. Staff so helpful, we had a puncture and they went out of their way to help us. Carvery excellent value for money everything so tasty - starters: mains : desserts and cheese. Breakfast the following day amazing, breakfast chef spoke to us about his passion for cooking breakfast then told us how he enjoyed the rest of the day fishing around the bay of Islands. We had a ground floor apartment room everything we needed, except wifi which meant we had to go on a walkabout apart from that a perfect setting and helpful staff to the extreme,. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you had such a great stay.I apologise for our Wi-fi not working in your room during your stay. We installed Wi-fi throughout our hotel late last year but the system has not performed as our installer promised. This problem should be solved in the next week.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I would reiterate the comments of other reviewers for this hotel. It was perfectly situated, very clean and staff were very helpful. The rooms were of a good size, very clean and with aircon - which was needed as it was very hot whilst we were there. Would recommend this hotel for a stay in Paihia, within easy walking distance of all attractions. Would definitely return for a longer stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with good facilities. Very neat and clean hotel. It was great to see that the hotel is located near the beach and restaurants. Located just opposite the beach. The location of the hotel was great for our travels. The hotel is also located just 4 minutes away from waitangi treaty grounds. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JANESH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is very centrally situated, right opposite the road from the waterfront and within a minute's walk from the village where the shops and restaurants are. We had a standard double room and our rate did not include breakfast, so I am unable to comment on breakfast. The room was immaculately clean - with two double beds, which gave a good night's sleep. The bathroom had a separate loo and washbasin, with a shower and bath. Fresh towels were available for the spa-pool- which was free to use in half hour slots, in the afternoon and evening. There is also a heated outdoor pool, but it was not warm enough for me to use. Tea and coffee making facilities were good - plunger and ground coffee were included. The reception staff are helpful and friendly.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to maximise the spectacular views, request and ocean-facing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $91 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing