We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved my stay here, rooms very modern, hotel has a nice lay out. Ice freezers in the hall. comfy beds, friendly staff, nice food for room service. Will stay again.
air con in rooms to keep room warm. Quiet hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and save some cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    205
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
108
223
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Once again Kingsgate has provided an excellent base for us to enjoy Paihia and the surrounding area.
Very friendly helpful staff and Castaway bar meal very nice and value for money.
Really enjoyed the spa after our walks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Paihia is a tiny tourist town about three hours from Auckland. The hotel is right on the water and a block from the Main Street of town. It is also right across the from ferry landing to Russell. The room was clean and had nice amenities-French press coffee, tea, and cocoa. The staff was really nice and helpful. We really found this to be a good value !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had a great two nights in a one bedroom suite facing the water. Really well appointed with everything we needed and the paper each morning! Had a soak in the hot tub which was great and a drink and meal at the bar which was good too.
Staff friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Both my husband and myself were very pleased with our recent stay at kingsgate hotel, we found our one bedroom suite to be of excellent standard, the view was amazing, and the suite was well equip to meet all our needs during our stay, found the bed to be comfortable, and the spa bath was welcomed after a long days drive. We had travelled up from palmerston north, via dargaville, kaitaia and only intended to stay a couple of days, but because we were enjoying our stay so much added another night on. We enjoyed a bar snack on one night and had tea at the restaurant on another night both meals were great, no complaints. Staff were all friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recommend this hotel. It was clean, comfy & in a good location, situated close to restaurants, etc. The bed was comfortable & we got a good night's sleep. The 2 couples we traveled with were of the same mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights using a voucher. The hotel is in a good location, only a minutes walk to Paihia township with it's restaurants and the ferry. The room was pretty standard, but comfortable enough. The usual tea and coffee making facilities with a small fridge. Having self service laundry facilities was handy, only $2 each for the washer and dryer with free washing powder. The bar and restaurant on the top floor has a great view out over the harbour. We had a couple of drinks, but didn't eat in the restaurant. The swimming pool would be great in summer, as long as you don't mind pedestrians being able to watch you simming.
The internet available is very expensive and limited. A two hour session mean's two hours from when you log on, not total time.
But that was the only gripe. If your looking for accomodation handily located to Paihia this isn't a bad deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwidanny_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing