We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's View Lodge(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
184
247
94
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
247
94
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomgreat locationseparate toiletper daytwo double bedsbuffet breakfastoutdoor poolsmall fridgewould stay againreception stafffirst floorgood sizewater frontair conferry terminalfree wifitwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 561 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recommend this hotel. It was clean, comfy & in a good location, situated close to restaurants, etc. The bed was comfortable & we got a good night's sleep. The 2 couples we traveled with were of the same mind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights using a voucher. The hotel is in a good location, only a minutes walk to Paihia township with it's restaurants and the ferry. The room was pretty standard, but comfortable enough. The usual tea and coffee making facilities with a small fridge. Having self service laundry facilities was handy, only $2 each for the washer and dryer with free washing powder. The bar and restaurant on the top floor has a great view out over the harbour. We had a couple of drinks, but didn't eat in the restaurant. The swimming pool would be great in summer, as long as you don't mind pedestrians being able to watch you simming.
The internet available is very expensive and limited. A two hour session mean's two hours from when you log on, not total time.
But that was the only gripe. If your looking for accomodation handily located to Paihia this isn't a bad deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwidanny_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 2N on a voucher deal. Reception staff were excellent - very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. Our downstairs room was spacious with queen sized bed and single bed. Plenty of space for luggage and desk with 2 chairs - all along one wall. Tea/coffee making facilities (incl small plunger) and a fridge. Bed is soft but that's a personal preference. Great reading lights. Shower was fantastic. Didn't dine at the hotel so cannot comment on meals available. Had our own mountain bikes which we were able to lock in secure cupboard. The pool/outdoor area is great as is the fitness centre and of course the views from the hotel are amazing. Metres from main shopping area. This is a great place to stay. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback.


Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room description:
- Large room with two double beds
- Small table with a single chair
- Small working space with a single chair
- Bedside tables
- Reading lamps
- TV
- Small fridge
- Tea/coffee-making supplies including a selection of teas, coffees, sugar, milk, cups, teacups, saucers, spoons, dishcloth
- Large bathroom, handicap accessible, with large tub, separate shower, large sink basin
- New furnishings in excellent shape
- Wall of windows along the front, windows in the bathroom
- Blackout curtains on the windows

Pros:
- Spacious room
- New furnishings
- Plenty of horizontal surfaces to place belongings and a small closet to hang clothes
- Recently refurbished bathroom
- Pleasant staff
- Great 'extras' including a pool, spa pool, games room, free bicycles/helmets
- Outstanding location right on the Paihia waterfront
- SKY channels
- Small fridge with milk
- Tea-making facilities
- Broadband connection in the room

Cons:
- Very thin walls that will make your sleep dependent on the consideration of your neighbours and their children
- Room was very clean except for the padded comforter on the bed which had blood and fluid stains plus several stray hairs: This may be a one-off, but we found it off-putting nevertheless (this covering was the layer UNDER the bedspread and over the sheets).
- Only one hook in the bathroom - no good places to hang bathroom kit, towels, etc.

We had a GrabOne coupon that gave us this room at half of the usual rate which made this hotel, especially given its location, a particularly good value. Under the assumption that other TripAdvisor readers will be paying full-price for the room, I've tried to rate it with the usual cost in mind. Even at full price, my sense is that the quality, spaciousness, and location make a room at this hotel a better option than similarly-priced options in the area: Hence, my 'very good' rating.

We would stay here again and can recommend it to other travelers but do caution light sleepers about the potential for noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a special deal/ voucher. We were 2 adults & 2 children (ages 13 & 11). Our room was upstairs, well appointed & had enough room for 4 of us. There were coffee/tea making facilities, a small fridge, Sky TV. Room was well lighted with windows & a sliding door leading to a small balcony. The bathroom was clean & modern. Breakfast buffet was good & provided a variety of options. (The voucher we used included a discount on the breakfast and made it a good deal). Outdoor swimming pool is not heated though. The hotel is just a short walk from the restaurants & shops. Staff were friendly & helpful. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evrtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews