We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Kingsgate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Kingsgate”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

"A great GRAB ONE" deal via the net. The KINGSGATE autolodge Paihia provided us with a lovely relaxing weekend away.The units were really ideal, clean and functional with friendly and helpful staff. Parking space plentiful.
The location is just great, situated across from the water, close to shops, restaurants and aquatic activities.
A great place to stay.
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    210
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
226
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is right on the waterfront - cross the road to the beach. Very handy to the wharf where all the tours leave from and to the village centre. You can just walk 3 minutes to the village centre, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

i got a Grab a Deal online for 2 nights which said in a superior room but having stayed there before and the room this time no 417 on the ground floor wasn't as good as the rooms which we had before. This room did include a bath, which the previous rooms we had stayed in didn't, and it had an old t.v. that was small.The previous time the t.v. were newer models and bigger. The room itself was lovely and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and it was well laid out.We used the spa while we were there and it was nice. We booked breakfast for the morning we left as it wasn't included in the deal. We felt that the price was dear if you didn't get it on special which we were lucky it was. The food was excellent though. The staff were lovely,and helpful. We otherwise enjoyed our time there and would certainly go back as it is central to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your comments and I am please you enjoyed your stay. We designate these rooms as Superior rooms due to the fact that they have a bath, as you said, but they also have a separate toilet. Whereas our other rooms, which are of a very similar standard, have the shower and toilet in one room. We are currently completing the refurbishment of some of our suites and the replacement of the TVs in our Superior rooms is one of the next items on our ongoing refurbishment programme.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Kingsgate in Paihia a few times now. We stayed here for a weekend in July as we were taking US visitors site-seeing around NZ. We got an excellent price (website special) this time which made the stay very, very good value for money.

The room we stayed in has been recently redecorated and is very comfortable. The bathroom looks great. Breakfast was excellent. The staff are very accommodating. And the main bonus is the proximity to town. It's literally a one-minute walk!

I've stayed at other places in Paihia, but will always choose to stay at the Kingsgate if I can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey-lovingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The woman at the front desk greeted us warmly, gave thorough answers to our questions and even left the game room open late for us! It's a beautiful spot just a minute walk from the ferry and bus station, and the included breakfast is delicious! You'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samweisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie, Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only stayed for the one night, booking two units 401 &402, they were very clean and comfortable rooms plenty of space for myself and my husband and my daughter and partner, the views were spectacular from the balconies and although it was a rainy day and night we still managed to get some clear moments for photos, sadly because of the weather we didnt make it across to Russell on the ferry but next time we are in NZ its definately on the top of our list to do, the shops were right on the doorstep almost and the breakfast was enjoyed by us all very much, all the staff we encountered were very receptive, would definately stay again, my daughter who lives in Mangonui has stayed there on previous occasions and never been disappointed, we also had undercover parking, laundry, gamesroom and we also made good use of the bar!! cheers!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1955_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. However unfortunately we have no control over the weather.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed two nights on a trademe deal, value for money, very close to shops, wharf, beach, clean rooms, breakfast good, pool area very nice and great views of water and Russell
Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing