We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view of the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom room 406 directly facing the Bay. We were concerned that the road noise would be a problem but after 9pm there was next to no traffic. The room was well presented with great facilities other than a hairline crack in the vanity and the door to the bedroom did not close which now hopefully have been fixed. We found having the kitchen very convenient even though we also ate out. However, it was the direct view of the Bay particularly at sunrise was what made it especially memorable. These rooms are a lot more than the standard rooms but the view makes it really worth it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a direct view of the Bay and get up to watch the sun rise. Magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StHeliers, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Most guests find that the extra cost of our suites is well worth it.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed one night whilst touring N.Z. Right on the sea front. Room fair size, very clean with really all you need. Staff very good and helpful. We had room facing car park, however from the balcony you had a sea view. Cost N.Z $139 including breakfast which was very good. Restaurant and bar overlooking sea , games room and excellent pool.Would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

At first a little doubtful about security with poorish window catches on ground floor windows but all was ok. The rooms are perfectly adequate with suberb shower and all other required fascilities. Clothes washing/drying machines with "free" washing powder are readily available. The restaurant serves very good, well prepared food with excellent breakfast range and normal NZ dinner menu. Staff are efficient and friendly.
The location for travelling about and boat jetties is excellent.
Very good therapeutic massage parlour is located, in an alleyway, just along the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Didnt have a booking, we arrive friday. Very friendly staff at check in. Decided on the 1 bedroom apartment. Ocean view. NZD$250 per night. Rooms good size. Bathroom good size with seperate toilet and shower plus bath and appeared to be recently remodelled. Came with all ammenities. Very nice. Large balcony with outdoor furniture looking over the beach. Suite came with underground parking. Central location, everything within 500meters. The view in the morning is the best, you get the sun streaming in once it gets over the hills across the bay. Very idillic. Rate included buffet breakfast. Bfast was good but not great. Just your standard hotel buffet breakfast but with great view and service. Standard rooms looking over the carpark were NZD130+ Per night. Do your self a favor and take the ocean view suites. Only $130 more per night, well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tablefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I went to bay of islands with my wife on honeymoon
the best thing about the hotel is its location. even the breakfast spread was good.
we were given a room in the 1st floor but there was no elevator and as such, it was difficult carrying the heavy bags specially if you doing it yourself.
the sea side view is only from the restaurant. from the rooms, one gets to see the parking lot

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StHeliers, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Unfortunately it is not possible for our rooms to have a view over the water. However our suites look over the water and as you can see from the reviews guests find that the extra cost of our suites is well worth it.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was a well run, convenient hotel. Location just across road from the wharf with all the activities and lovely friendly staff. A retro building with a reasonable refit, it's worth asking for a deal.

Room Tip: if you want a view, makesure you ask, as most rooms face away from the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank NancyMnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you are traveling to the Bay of Islands Paihia is the place to be. This was my 2nd time staying at the Kingsgate hotel. The rooms are spacious - clean and the bathroom was larger than most of the ones in hotels I have been in around the country. Full tub and walk in shower - separate toilet and sink. Beds were VERY comfortable. Most beds in NZ seem to be really springy - these were very nice - soft but solid. I will stay here again on my next trip to the Bay of Islands.

Walking distance from everything. Ferry over to Russell - shops and restaurants are all just up the street.

Room Tip: We did a studio with 2 doubles and was a very beautiful updated room. Take a room without ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $84 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing