We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll come back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed 3 nights with our kids 7 years old boy and 19 month old girl and my parents visited us from Japan. All of us stunned for the view when we arrived our room that was family unit!!!! We were soooo happy with all their seivice and quiet location. Our boy enjoyed pool and our girl enjoyed room it was very spacious and no sharply funiture!!
My mum said she likes to stay Cooks lookout again for her next visiting (much longer than this time! she said!!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hananokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 969 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

The motel was 7 mins drive out of Paihia. The views were spectacular and it was lovely to go back to the motel in the evening and relax in the solar heated pool and watch the sun go down. The motel was very quiet and the rooms were very clean. Norm and Sheila (the hosts) were very helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this for families with smaller children as the teenagers found it too far to walk into Paihia. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsuph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cook's Lookout. The views were breathtaking and the motel offered everything you could possibly need.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

These 3 days were the highlight of my first-ever trip to NZ and I found the motel by accident, so a wonderful surprise...Norm and Shelagh really looked after me as a solo traveller and loved every moment of my stay (and the wine and putting the world to rights with the lovely hosts!). Norm's travel tips were excellent. The view is better than you can imagine and you can't beat having a glass of wine or a cup of tea overlooking the bay from your private terrace. A great choice!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Cook's Lookout Motel was a very lucky find in this beautiful area. It is situated a short drive outside Paihia in a very quiet and safe residential area. The views over the bay are just lovely particularly at sunset, you can sit on your terrace with a glass of chilled sauvignon and enjoy watching the stars appear. We had a two bedroom unit which was ideal for us and our three children, it was very clean and spacious and very had very big windows. The Kitchen was well equipped and there was a gas barbeque next to the swimming pool for all residents to enjoy. The Swimming pool itself is fabulous - heated to a very comfortable 33 degrees and fenced off so small people can't get in. Lots of recliners around the pool to enjoy the view while supervising the children. The Hosts Norm and Shelagh were very kind and helpful and can book all sorts of activities for you to do during your stay. There is a convenience store around the corner and the supermarket is a short drive away. There are lots of restaurants and bars in Paihia and Russell.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The title says it all,upon arrival you'll discover it straight away even the boot part. The location of cooks is an attribute to your enjoyment here,we came in from the hustle and bustle of Sydney and once seated up on our deck overlooking the bay you could feel your tension drain out like the tide in front of you. Hosts Norm & Shelagh are very personable and helpful if need be,otherwise your privacy is very well respected. We would definitely stay again if in Paihia. Dan & Lor

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Cook's Lookout Motel met all our expectations. The views were exceptional over the Waitangi River and out over the headlands and ocean. It was lovely to watch kayaks and boats meander along on the tide. The location was peaceful with units built on different levels of a hill. The pool was warm and a delight to swim in. The units were very clean and had all the anemities we required. The hosts were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. The location wasa short drive out of town but the views made up for any inconvenience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChallisPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $136 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing