We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing, with unbeatable views...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Berks
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing, with unbeatable views...”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

These 3 days were the highlight of my first-ever trip to NZ and I found the motel by accident, so a wonderful surprise...Norm and Shelagh really looked after me as a solo traveller and loved every moment of my stay (and the wine and putting the world to rights with the lovely hosts!). Norm's travel tips were excellent. The view is better than you can imagine and you can't beat having a glass of wine or a cup of tea overlooking the bay from your private terrace. A great choice!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    190
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
248
519
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Cook's Lookout Motel was a very lucky find in this beautiful area. It is situated a short drive outside Paihia in a very quiet and safe residential area. The views over the bay are just lovely particularly at sunset, you can sit on your terrace with a glass of chilled sauvignon and enjoy watching the stars appear. We had a two bedroom unit which was ideal for us and our three children, it was very clean and spacious and very had very big windows. The Kitchen was well equipped and there was a gas barbeque next to the swimming pool for all residents to enjoy. The Swimming pool itself is fabulous - heated to a very comfortable 33 degrees and fenced off so small people can't get in. Lots of recliners around the pool to enjoy the view while supervising the children. The Hosts Norm and Shelagh were very kind and helpful and can book all sorts of activities for you to do during your stay. There is a convenience store around the corner and the supermarket is a short drive away. There are lots of restaurants and bars in Paihia and Russell.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The title says it all,upon arrival you'll discover it straight away even the boot part. The location of cooks is an attribute to your enjoyment here,we came in from the hustle and bustle of Sydney and once seated up on our deck overlooking the bay you could feel your tension drain out like the tide in front of you. Hosts Norm & Shelagh are very personable and helpful if need be,otherwise your privacy is very well respected. We would definitely stay again if in Paihia. Dan & Lor

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Cook's Lookout Motel met all our expectations. The views were exceptional over the Waitangi River and out over the headlands and ocean. It was lovely to watch kayaks and boats meander along on the tide. The location was peaceful with units built on different levels of a hill. The pool was warm and a delight to swim in. The units were very clean and had all the anemities we required. The hosts were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. The location wasa short drive out of town but the views made up for any inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChallisPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Cook's Lookout Motel is in a sensational spot just a few minutes drive from Paihia town. The views are undoubtedly fantastic and we had a great time during our stay. Norm and Shelagh made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with lots of good tips and advice about what to do and where to go in the local area. The kids had a fantastic time in the beautifully maintained pool and the view from the trampoline was amazing! We would definitely recommend it as a place to stay when visiting the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We were in NZ for a family touring holiday in Dec 09 and sampled a wide range of accomodation - everything from basic cabins to 4.5 star resorts. Cook's Lookout was my family's nominated favourite. While it's a few minutes drive out of town, any inconvenience is far outweighed by the stunning location and the great guest-friendly facilities. Norm and Sheilagh are terrific hosts, and provided great advice on adventure activities in the Bay of Islands. They also booked a couple of fishing and dolphin trips, both of which were very very good. Don't hesitate with this one - it's tops!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joneses105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Norm & Sheelagh made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our studio was right at the top giving us spectacular views over the Bay. The room was meticulously clean and had everything provided that you could possibly need including an excellent shower. Norm also suggested places of interest to visit and supplied maps of the area as this was our first trip to NZ. We were not disappointed with his choices and would recommend the passenger ferry trip over to Russell which is an equally delightful place to visit. We would definitely stay here again if we return to NZ.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing