We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views, natural peaceful setting, everything one could need provided” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views, natural peaceful setting, everything one could need provided”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We began our New Zealand trip here and could not have asked for a better start. The view of the upper bay and mangrove forest was stunning. We had two bedrooms and a full kitchen equipped with everything imaginable. Norm and Shelagh were most helpful and friendly. It's less than 5 minutes from town by car in a lovely, tranquil setting rather than on "motel row" on the main road. If you like birds, you'll get a great introduction to New Zealand species from your porch. If we travel to New Zealand again, we'll return to Cook's Lookout.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturalist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    188
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
244
511
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at Cook's lookout for 3 nights and overall we had a very pleasant stay.

The views are excellent, our room was on the second floor above the pool which gave us a stunning clear view across the bay.

Paihia town central is only 5 minutes away by car, but being a bit out of town was great, very quiet.

There is a general store and fish and chips/sandwich shop a short walk from the Motel, and a supermarket a short drive further. Since the unit we stayed in had a kitchen we prepared some meals ourselves.

The pool was great, and Norm and Sheilagh were very helpful with info on local attractions.

The rooms were very clean and well presented.
The only thing lacking is the TV was a bit small and the beds were a little too soft for our liking (only ourpersonal preference tho), but we spent most of our time out and about so this was no problem.

A great stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

our family stayed at cooks 3 days end of october great place to unwind very relaxing nice pool area fantastic views and most of all no road traffic so we could sleep all night and very comfortable beds best yet would definately recommend

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fribbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We spent Labour Weekend at Cooks Lookout and had a fab time.
Sportless accommodation recently refurbished, Norm and Shelagh have thought of everything. Great comfortable beds and wow what a view !!
Thank you Norm and Shelagh.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zara140306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

From the minute we arrived at Cooks Lookout until we left, we were made to feel at home. Norm and Shelagh were great, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable time, without being intrusive or pushy. The room was great, clean and comfortable with fantastic views - a highlight of the day was having wine and cheese sitting out on our verandah taking in the sight of the bay and listening to the birds. Very peaceful location, and perfect way to end the day. The kitchenette meant we were able to make some of our own meals and with Woolworths just down the road, this was a great option to eating out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting peace and quiet along with some of the best views in Paihai.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Our wonderful stay started the minute we stepped into the motel reception when we were greeted by Shelagh and her husband Norm. They were extremely helpful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable but they were not over attentive as some owners can be.
Our unit was delightful, extremely clean and well equipped. The view from our unit, in fact also from our bed, was the highlight of the stay, we enjoyed leisurely breakfasts sitting on the patio gazing at the wonderful panorama. It was also very quiet and peaceful and only 5 minutes drive into the centre of Pahia if we should need food, entertainment etc.
We were able to walk from the motel to Hurano Falls (20 minutes) & Waitangi Treaty Ground ( just less than 2 hours) the cafe there is worth visiting, amazing carrot cake!
Before we chose Cook's Lookout we looked at a number of other motels on the internet all of which looked nice and some by the sea. When we were there we had a look at these and were really pleased with our choice. None of them offered such wonderful views and the peace & tranquility we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Did we strike it lucky with this motel! We wanted a peaceful location with comfortable, clean accommodation and a good view - we got all that and more. Just a couple of minutes outside Paihia, but very well signposted and easy to find, this place definitely has the best views in the area, right out across the bay to Russell, even from the bed! Norm and Shelagh are friendly and helpful and worked hard to ensure we had a memorable stay. The rooms are pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished and with a power shower to die for. If we had any complaints it was that our stay was far too short and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepinksWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing