We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had an exquisite view of the ocean and valley from our room. Waking up in the morning to the exceptionally beautiful sunrise was the highlight of our stay. Our host Norm was very accommodating and helped us plan out our entire day. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. If you are looking to relax or get away from city chaos then this is the place to go! I would definitely return to Cooks Lookout Motel and recommend it to anyone looking to visit Paihia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhino31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    191
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
248
522
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in February, 2014, and just got 'round to posting a review! The unit (7) was spotless, and extremely spacious & comfortable for my wife & myself (plenty of space for 2 more as well). We stayed 5 nights and loved it. The incredible thing here is that we didn't need, nor have, the curtains closed day or night - privacy was secure, and there was the fabulous view to enjoy in sunlight or moonlight.

Norm and Shelagh are extremely hospitable. They extended an invitation to us to join them and some of the other guests in a "musical evening" on the Saturday night, and we enjoyed it tremendously. Watching the fabulous sunset in one direction, and turning to watch the full moon rising in the other direction over Bay of Islands was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricks_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Reasonably priced, grand views, quiet and lovely hosts…what more could you ask for? We stayed 4 nights here and enjoyed it so much. There's a small kitchenette & fridge so we could fix our own meals, but Paihia's cafes & restaurants are only a short drive away. Ask Norm for his recommendations on what to do & where to eat!

Room Tip: Rooms at top are best (#1, 2, 3).
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DMP351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wonderful few days here. Fantastic accommodation. Bright,spotlessly clean and well furnished.The beautiful view from my bedroom was breathtaking. The owners Norm and Shelagh were most helpful and cannot do enough to ensure you have the perfect base for your holiday. I would recommend Cooks lookout to anyone looking for first class accommodation in Paihia.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

F riendly kind caring helpful owners Norm & Shelagh

A mazing views that take your breath away

B eautiful clean fully equiped units

U nique setting to see sunrise and sunset

L overly heated pool and BBQ area

O utstanding service to book tours with pick up and drop off at your door

U ttterly delightful holiday experience of my life

S imply the best motel in the Bay of Islands

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation with unrivalled views over Waitangi, with Russell in view across Bay. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Paihia is an easy 3 minute drive from the motel with a large supermarket and a range of restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WDeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to be introduced and greeted by Norm who then introduced Shelagh. This welcoming gesture is not something we have experienced before from moteliers and certainly made us feel welcome. They provided good advice as to dining which we used over our two night stay.

We were unit 6 which was an upgrade suggested by them and is one we are glad we took up. The view of Waitangi, Russell & the Bay of Islands is magnificent and one you could never tire of, by day or by night. We also enjoyed the quiet location while only being a short drive to town.

As mentioned the units are dated but have been updated inside, are clean and tidy and had everything we needed plus great water pressure for those showers.

We would most definitely stay again and recommend Norm & Shelaghs great motel to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing