We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility & breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Tranquility & breathtaking views”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a very friendly & helpful welcome from Norm & Shelagh and their great sense of humour!

Our spacious, well equipped & spotlessly clean apartment had a nice hot shower and comfy bed, excellent free wifi and plenty of power sockets.

But best of all was the most fabulous view perched above the bays of Paihia and Russell from its large verandah. The views of the sunsets, stars & sunrise were quite stunning!

The motel has a large heated outdoor pool, again with a great view, and towels provided.

It is a few kilometres out of Paihia, just past the Waitangi Treaty Ground and close to Haruru Falls.

So if you want to be in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Paihia then this is not for you. If on the other hand you want tranquility with fabulous views and only a short drive into Paihia then Cook's Lookout is the ideal choice.

We loved it and highly recommend it.

TIP: If you book direct with Cook's Lookout, you could pay less than you would through the various booking agencies.

(Incidentally we apparently stayed in the same room that previous reviewer clinksty? claimed to have had a problem with. I can only think they had some other agenda.)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    190
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
248
519
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and would happily have stayed longer if only to sit on the patio and admire the view. The rooms have everything you need and a terrific shower. Norm and Shelagh are excellent hosts and even offered to drive us in to town for dinner so we could both have a drink.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maitch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The advertising really does reflect reality - the picture above was taken from the room next to my 1 bedroom apartment I'm sure. If you don't mind paying for top quality, this is the Bay of Islands Motel for you. Norm and Shelagh are great hosts, the unit was spotless with every amenity, and the heated pool is worth many a long wallow. The motel is only 5 minutes drive from Pahia, but tens of decibels quieter with no traffic or crowd noise. I'll be back if I come this way again.

Tony Stephenson

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Booked via information centre at Paihia pier head. If you want a special experience then we would recommend this motel.You will find that Norm, although I prefer Norman , and Shelagh will go out of their way to assist you with your needs and go the extra mile should it be required. What you see is what you get. We will be back .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoCGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a wonderfull 3 night stay. The owners Norm and Sheelagh are very helpfull, giving good advice. Rooms were spacious and clean. We had a nice view over the river and partly over the ocean and given an extra place to sit to look over the bay.
The motel is placed on a hill, looking out over the Waitangi grounds and bay, a couple minutes drive from centre Paihia. At night a quit place.

In all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annet-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudarg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked this motel some months ago from the UK when planning our round the world jaunt. It was our first stop in New Zealand after Auckland. We were not disappointed! The accommodation is simple and spotlessly clean. All facilities are available including a beautiful pool which must have the best view in the World!
Norm & Shellagh, two expatriate 'Scousers' (from the 'right' side of the River Mersey) keep a wonderful, friendly & welcoming sanctuary.
He might also sing for you if you ask nicely! Recommended 'The Canadian Railroad Trilogy' - brought tears to my eyes. As those of the antipodes are wont to say; "May goodness rain down on you, cobbler!"

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in Cook's Lookout for 2 nights in early February. It was a wonderful and convenient place to stay. This hotel is quiet and separated from the main streets of Paihia (but not far - maybe 4 minutes drive?) which was very nice in terms of tranquility and peace. The owners are wonderful and incredibly helpful - always ready to give a recommendation and advice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing