We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice welcome on the North Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It was our first time in NZ and as a start oft hetriü it coulnd't have been better. A very quiet, comfortsble place. But the best is the stunning view. Its so noce to have breakfast on the teracce overloking the bay of island. And, whT makes ir perfect - norm and sheilagh are very warm and friendly hosts. Whenever we come back to NZ we will be there again.
Steffi and Volker, germany

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 959 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were a family of 5 and stayed for 2 nights in a one-bedroom suite. Norm & Shelagh were very prompt in their replies to email enquiries and helpful with deciding which room size to take. We were perfectly comfortable and the kids LOVED the pool. The room had everything we needed and I was even pleasantly surprised to find a real hair dryer - not the lame bolted-to-the-wall variety. You could borrow books or DVDs for free and get recommendations on restaurants and attractions. While a little further out of town than some other motels in Paihia, it was quiet and the views were great, so we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We travelled over from the UK to spend time with our friends over New Year and Cooks Lookout was the perfect venue. Our apartment had a balcony overlooking the pool and on over the Bay to Russell. The pool was solar heated so was a delight to swim in whether bright and sunny or in a torrential downpour. The apartment had everything we needed to cook a New Years Eve meal, sharing the workload with our friends next door and shuttling between kitchens across the balcony. There's a BBQ area (with trampoline for the kids) next to the pool to enjoy a burger with a view.
Norm and Shelagh were the perfect hosts and were always on hand to offer advice, recommendations or provide a battery charger when my camera ran out of juice !
Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a room with a view, a pool and only 5 mins drive from the attractions, beaches and activities that the Bay of Islands has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Basic, clean comfy accommodation in a quiet setting with outstanding views. Warm welcome on arrival . Lovely clean pool area too. Would return and recommend to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Bay of Islands.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an excellent stay. Our hosts Norm and Shelagh were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the pool and then out into the Bay and to Russell, which was a beautiful view any time of the day. The swimming pool was wonderful and a good place to relax.
During our stay the other guests were respectful of each other so there were no screaming children running around the site at the crack of dawn, and no late night parties - a perfect place to relax and unwind. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We initially planned to stay only three nights and then added another because it was just the perfect spot for us. The hosts norm and shelagh are very warm and welcoming, helped us with booking tours and what to do during our limited time, and the motel is really only a three minute drive from the center. And it's worth every second! It is incredibly quiet and peaceful up there, far better than the touristy atmosphere you get downtown, and the views are simply spectacular. We haven't seen anything like it and certainly not for that kind of money. Also, the swimming pool is great - solar-heated and very clean - and you can enjoy the views even from there.
We'd love to come back one time and would definitely recommend staying at cooks lookout when in paihia! It's a very special and wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sage2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Began the NZ trip with Paihia and this motel. We were allotted no 6 - and were immediately smitten by the view. Lovely flowers besides the deck complimented the lookout! In a secluded part of Paihia, so better to have your transport. The unit has decent facilities and the hosts are friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mukurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
3.7 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing