We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

While we were unfortunate to have heavy rains during our stay we were more than pleased with our accommodation. Norm and Shelagh were welcoming and helpful throughout, giving us good tips on where to go and where to eat (Lips had yummy sticky date pudding!). The room we had was terrific. The views (we did see before the rain started) were breathtaking, there was everything we needed in the kitchenette, the bathroom was spotless and the shower very good indeed. While we spent more time in the room than we'd expected, due to the weather, we enjoyed it. Norm & Shelagh's selection of dvds helped with that. The wifi worked well, and it was all round a very fine place to stay. We plan to return in good weather - hoping that Norm can order some up for us.

Room Tip: We spent 5 weeks touring NZ and this rates top of the list. If you want privacy this is it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANDKJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Cook's Lookout Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 951 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013, before cruising the Bay of Islands for a week. Our room was excellent, very comfortably furnished with plenty of space, great shower and a very handy fully equipped kitchenette. The view through big windows and glass sliding doors, across the estuary and beyond to the Bay, was glorious and changed constantly as the light changed. The view was so good, that on 3 nights we got takeaway fish and chips for dinner and enjoyed these on our private balcony watching the sunset. Norm and Shelagh couldn't have been more helpful and generous hosts. Moreover, not only did they look after our rental car while we went cruising and very kindly took us to the boat for departure, but they picked us up when we returned! I had not been to Northland before and enjoyed the whole trip very much. I was very impressed by how friendly and helpful all the locals were. Cook's Lookout was certainly a highlight and when we return to Paihia we will definitely be staying there again, and hopefully next time for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When we arrived at Cook's Lookout we had a room overlooking the pool. My husband was so disappointed as this was for a special occasion. The hosts were away but luckily we are able to move rooms. Views amazing. Only drawback don't look over the verandah as there was loads of old dog poo .Rooms were great could have done with a bit of fresh milk. If you stay here check view from room don't rely on photos! Altogether had Fabulous time here. Oh yes you also need a car to get around. Bethan Llewelyn

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a view of bay only not pool. Don't rely on photos which are very decei...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookslookout, Owner at Cook's Lookout Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

The guests booked an ”Ocean View One Bedroom Apartment” via our Website and we would assume that they had checked the information about the room before they chose to book it for their “special occasion”.

Our Website very clearly shows that both of our One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments look over the Pool to the Ocean. I took ALL of our Website photographs myself with a simple little Canon pocket camera. The pictures are not “doctored” or “photo-shopped” in any way and are a simple, true and accurate representation of our rooms. Although we are in the hospitality industry and try our best to be nice to everybody I think we should be allowed to be offended by totally unjust accusations of deceit or giving misleading information.

The guests were given a free upgrade to our best Two Bedroom Apartment. (This is not a practice that is likely to be repeated).

The “dog poo” reference baffles me completely as there are no dogs on our property and we were shown no evidence of it. We are on the edge of beautiful native bush and we have seen a few odd possums strolling past over the years!?

As with many Motels in Paihia we give our guests unlimited supplies of UHT milk for their tea and coffee as it is not practical for us to store and provide fresh cartons of the many varieties and personal preferences of milks available in these choice-rich times.

P.S. Did I mention that our photographs are ALL real and honest?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Norm and Shielagh are the perfect hosts and what a location.
Views from the room and fully equipped kitchen all away from the madding crowd.
Need a car to get to the attractions so free parking and Internet at 100 MB per day is ample.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillfromMullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was with great relief to us that Cook's Lookout lived up to our expectations, given it does rate so highly on tripadvisor. We were a bit nervous booking accomodation sight unseen, though my wife scrutinised the reviews pretty closely and felt we could not ignore the overwhelmingly positive feedback.
We stayed in room 8 alongside friends in room 9 for three nights. This was a good position as it meant we had our privacy but we could also mix with ease. Near the pool was handy though kids spent most of their time on the trampoline which we could supervise from our balcony. Though only a few minutes from town the aspect gives you a sense of remoteness. Meant we could easil access restaurants, supermarkets and tours and yet a quickly retreat to this unique view.
Rooms were well maintained and certainly well equipped....overall a very good value stay that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Cook's Lookout motel is located well outside Paihia, on a hill with a magnificent view over the estuary to the distant sea. We witnessed spectacular sunrises and on a previous visit enjoyed a fantastic starry sky on a clear night. The rooms are simply but comfortably furnished, clean, and quiet, and spotlessly clean, with a large comfortable bed and a more than adequate cooking niche. The owners, Norm and Shelagh, were very friendly and helpful, and gave us plenty of advice about what to see and do. The motel is about 5 minutes drive from the town centre, with its shops and restaurants. There is ample parking on the property and a generous allowance of free WiFi. This was our second stay at Cook's Lookout and we will certainly try to stay here on a future visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place with very helpful and friendly hosts! Nice room with fantastic view. Nice pool, great for a relaxing swim just before dinner (good cooking facilities). Thanks Norm & Shelagh for great and relaxing days!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats_G_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $109 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing