We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this motel on the strength of the motel's own website which extolled the virtues of the view plus the fact we wanted a swimming pool to keep the kids happy. However, the website doesn't do justice to Cook's Lookout because in every respect, the place exceeded our expectations. The rooms (we had a 2 bed unit) were spacious and spotless. We had a lovely deck overlooking the harbour (with access from the main bedroom as well as the lounge) and the views were indeed breath-taking. The hosts, Norm and Shelagh, were very welcoming. Norm is a mine of useful information and pointed us in the right direction which is particularly important when you only have a few days at a particular location. Overall, this is an easy 5 out of 5 to give because in every respect, it exceeded our expectations and made for a wonderful start to our holiday in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robg721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    167
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
227
462
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had the most enjoyable start to our NZ holiday staying with Norm and Shelagh at Cooks Lookout Motel. Norm being a wealth of information on what would be great for us to experience making sure not to miss some of those places that could easily be missed and where to have that perfect coffee. With everything you need on hand it was like bringing the comfort of home with you. We chose to eat in due to the fantastic view of the Bay from our bedroom opening up to the deck. The peaceful location is a real plus especially for the light sleeper.
A good meal, glass of wine and the beauty of God's creation you could ask for nothing more. Thank you Norm and Shelagh.
Steve and Cheryl NSW Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hosts were charming and most helpful to get us set up and to the many historic and natural sight-seeing places and cafe, dinner and pub options. While you can drive up to your efficiency the motel overlooks the bay of island including historic sights and is entirely protected from the main road. The units were tastefully furnished and very clean and the views from bedroom are stunning. Hiking trails, beaches, canoeing and sailing are all nearby. Perfect place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonEilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Norm and Shelagh were very helpful to us in optimizing a fantastic last two days of our holiday . They were so personable and the view from our room was wonderful. It is less than 10 minutes drive into Paihia but even when we left the car at the motel for the day and needed a lift back, Norm was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandCathy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For our last two days in NZ, we were looking for something special. Via local recommendations, we found Cook's Lookout in Huraru Falls and asked for a room. We were lucky and room number three (which you can also see on most of the pictures uploaded here) was free, the view just stunning! We spent there our last two days and enjoyed the beautiful view so much that we did not even go our for dinner even more but stayed at our room and had dinner there! In the morning the sun wakes you up with a beautiful sunrise - this is life!

Norm and his wife have been very helpful and friendly, we felt welcome and could also get a closer insight into the life of the locals.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent two days at Cooks Lookout. Norm could not have been more welcoming nor more helpful with his suggestions as to how we might best spend our time in the Bay of Islands. His suggestions for dinner were equally excellent although we only ate out once as the view from our decking was simply stunning and deserved to be savoured over a few glasses of wine and a home made supper as the sun set! The room was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean and breakfasts from the decking furniture, immediately outside our bedroom's sliding panoramic doors, were the perfect way to start the day. Our stay was just perfect and well worthy of a 5 Star rating - in fact, if I could award more stars, I would! Ian & Pam Spalding UK

Room Tip: We went for a Studio Unit with Ocean View but all the views looked pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with my wife initially for 2 nights and then extended for another 2 nights. We extended because of the extremely peronal warm management style. The rooms all have great views of Bay of Islands, are clean and the beds were good. My wife used the pool every day as it was always as she says "just right". If you are looking for a really good experience I would totally recoemd here.
Ken Wood

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenwoodcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing