We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Babinda, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 3 nights which just wasn't long enough. The views from our unit of the Bay were amazing either while having breakfast with the sunrise or a wine while watching the sunset were truly unmatched. This is as close to paradise as you can get. The room was very clean with all the facilities you could need. The beds were comfortable and unit spacious. The complex was quiet yet only a short drive to Pahia and a Supermarket close by. Norm & Shelagh were the perfect hosts with their expert local knowledge and a willingness and friendliness unmatched in my experience staying at other accommodation. They arranged our tours which we thoroughly enjoyed and couldn't have asked for better. Would definately recommend Cooks Lookout to anyone wanting to take a trip to the Bay of Islands and wanting to stay at the best accommodation in every way. Thank you Norm & Shelagh for making our stay truly memorable. We will be back!
Ryan & Troy
Australia

Room Tip: Units 4 or 5 had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    178
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
239
486
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

If we could give this motel 7 Stars we would, and this would not just be for the most fantastic views, in particular the sunrises from our deck. From the warm welcome from Norm and Shelagh, who were happy to advise us on what to see locally, and arranged a cruise, to the Studio with all the facilities and views to die for over the bay, our 3 day stay was excellent. We stayed in 12 motels/hotels over 4 weeks in North and South Islands; on the basis of value for money, spacious, clean and quality facilities and equipment, mine hosts, and of course the views, Cook's Lookout topped the lot. A great way to finish our holiday in N Z.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just absolutely fabulous! The view from our two bedroom unit was amazing, & the owners can skite about this 'til Kingdom Come - they do a great job.
The pool was so warm, it was like getting into a bath, & we used the gas barbecue for a great Kiwi dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babinda, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner and I had 3 nights here and enjoyed every part of our stay with Norm & Shelagh. The view from our room was just amazing and overlooking the bay with a bottle of wine just topped it off. Our room was clean and tidy and the kitchen had everything that we needed but try out the chinese takeaway that Norm recommened as it was very tasty. We would have no hesitation in recommending Cook's Lookout to any of our friends wanting to take a trip up the The Bay of Islands.

Troy & Ryan
Australia

Room Tip: Great View from Room 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Just about to leave after 4 peaceful, relaxing days in northland. Many thanks to Norm and Shelagh for the friendly advice for places to visit and help with making bookings (Norm plays a mean guitar too).

This is our second visit to Cooks Lookout, good clean & well equipped rooms with that fantastic view over the bay.

Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location, a couple of minutes out of Paihia, has two distinct advantages over its competitors - none of the noise and all of the views... spectacular views. Norm and Shelagh are lovely hosts, welcoming, kind and helpful, without being intrusive - they gave good advice on restaurants and sightseeing options, plus several nifty maps to help us find our way about (there is a supermarket close-by). The accommodation is very clean and well appointed, with a proper little kitchen and comfortable beds. We stayed in a Poolside Unit, which had a double bedroom and an unobtrusive single bed at the edge of the living area (should it be required) - this was an ideal and economical option for my mature parents and I - far less expensive than two rooms in an average motel would have been. In conclusion, great value, service and accommodation - richly deserving of its excellent TripAdvisor reviews - highly recommended. Thank you Norm and Shelagh, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodopigletNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A fantastic location, especially Units 1,2 and 3. Very peaceful and relaxing. Stunning views over The Bay of Islands. W onderful, friendly, helpful Hosts, who will advise on, and book, all trips and activities, if requested. Paihia is a five minute drive away for all amenities. Stay for as long as possible, it is a MUST. Prue and Jay Burke. UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing