We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Get-away in the Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cook's Lookout Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Get-away in the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Cook's Lookout is situated about 4 km outside Paihai, which is in itself a wonderful resort town on the Bay of Islands, and a must see. What was so wonderful about our stay at Cook's Lookout was the quiet and incredibly beautiful scenery all visable from the deck, patio, or through floor to ceiling windows and even lying in bed! It was a beautiful quiet get away enhanced by our hosts who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We only had 3 days there and fully enjoyed all the things to do in the area, Each evening it was like coming back to a bit of heaven! The place also had good facilities and we enjoyed our breakfasts on the deck and barbecuing by the pool. Highly recommended but you definitely need more than one night here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    178
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
238
486
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

amazing motel, great views,and just a short drive from Paihia. Norm and Shelagh are great fun and really know their area. All their recommendations were excellent. Great accommodation, great shower highly recommend it, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

(Firstly, apologies to Norm and Shelagh for taking so long to write this; approximately a year on from our stay!).

We (my wife, 11 month old son and I) had a lovely break at Cook's Lookout Motel during our three week holiday in New Zealand during November time.

Our trip to New Zealand was built around a family wedding in Wellington and so tried to cram in as much travelling around the North Island as we could around the 'main event'. As such we wanted to be able to have a 'mini holiday' within our trip to be able to relax away from the rest of the family who were with us. Having done some research back in England before we left we decided on staying in the bay of islands, and after some researching found Cook's Lookout Motel which looked to be just what we were after with good reviews to boot.

The views you see on their website are spot on, and really added to the feeling of tranquility whilst we were staying there. The location is great to be able to get around without the stress of being down on the coast (which was great for us as a young family as we wanted to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle). Norm and Shelagh were lovely hosts and very accommodating to our needs (including the provision of a baby bath on request).

If you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay in the area which is away from the busy beach areas but within easy reach of the islands etc then you can't go wrong with Cook's Lookout Motel.

Would definitely recommend and stay again in the future if we are up in the bay of islands again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gdmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great room with excellent view and friendly hospitality. John had a successful fishing trip catching 4 good size snapper which we shared with our hosts. Norm and Shelagh were very helpful and arranged all our trips and fishing charter even taking John down at 6.30 am fro his fishing day. Highly recommend this motel and would go there again tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were made so welcome by our hosts and they made sure we saw the most important sights, drawing us maps and generally providing helpful tips on half and full day's out.. We saw far more of Northland because of their help and advice. The accommodation was a delight with views to die for and so comfortable too. We stayed an extra night as we couldn't bear to leave!!

Room Tip: All rooms/studio apartments have excellent views. We were lucky to have the view on the website in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The pictures and other reviewers don't lie. The Cook's Lookout motel was our base in the Bay of Islands for 5 nights & we could not have wished for more. Norm was a wonderful host, offering suggestions of places to visit, tours to do, personalised maps, restaurants to eat at and also on how best to take advantage of the wonderful location that Cook's Lookout has overlooking the Bay of Islands. The sunrises were spectacular and the starry nights will be long remembered for their brillance.
The room (#5) we had was very clean and although not spacious, contained everything we needed for our stay and we were very comfortable. We also appreciated the access to the free wi-fi.
If you are looking for a place with wonderful personal service, unsurpassed views, clean and comfortable accommodation then don't look any further - Cook's Lookout has all of this plus more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were impressed with the personalised services of Norm and Shelagh. They sent us an email to ask if they could help in any way to make our stay more comfortable.

Their recommendations on restaurants and places to go were also very good. Overall, this made our stay very pleasant and smooth ! Thanks for everything .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GM191112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.7 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Property: Cook's Lookout Motel
Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing