We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very enjoyable 3 night stay over the Easter break. It is a private setting just a few minutes from the main town and away from the hustle and bustle. On arrival the hosts made us feel comfortable and were knowledgeable about what there was to do in Paihia and the best eating spots around town. We loved the king deluxe room that we had booked and thought it was fantastic value for money compared to other accommodation over this period. The breakfast was delicious and we were lucky enough to have the Sunday roast included in our 3 night package. We will not hesitate to recommend to others and would certainly stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at Longhouse. It was great looking after you and so pleased you enjoyed the meals provided. We would love to have you stay again. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
75
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Longhouse Bed and Breakfast is situated outside Paihia, a little off the road to Haruru Falls. It is a perfectly secluded and tranquil place to get away from the tourism bustle on the coast and yet be within reach of all the activities.

Travelling on my own and after a lot of driving and spending every night in a different place, I had been searching for a comfortable yet affordable room to relax, unwind and rest a few days. Longhouse turned out to be the perfect choice.

I stayed in the Queen Room for $109 per night and what I got was:
- a very spacious room
- comfortable bed
- free WIFI
- functional kitchenette
- beautiful bathroom (including the fluffiest bathrobe I've ever worn)
- my own little balcony that was part of the larger deck
- delicious breakfast

The road was not too far away, so I could hear the traffic, but it wasn't too bad and died down at nights. Plus, the crickets were louder. Longhouse is within easy walking distance from Haruru Falls and there is a beautiful forest walk from there to Waitangi Treaty Ground.

Without any doubt the best about Longhouse, though, are John and Mike, the hosts. They are just incredibly lovely and made me feel so welcome. I wanted to go on a sailing trip? Mike drove me down to Paihia harbour. I did not want to go out for dinner on my own? They invited me to share theirs (and John is an awesome cook). I needed to do some washing? They did it.

Thank you so much, guys! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AN1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. After your trip through New Zealand it was great to see that you were able to relax and unwind and enjoy the time at Longhouse in our Queen Room and of course your exploring in the Bay Of Islands. Especially the sailing which we know you had a fantastic day. Hope the tan was topped up enough for your time in Samoa. We thoroughly enjoyed your time here and the dinner we had together. You will be well back into routine now you are back in Germany but we hope the memories of Longhouse and the Bay of Islands and N.Z will stay with you. All the very best and if you are ever in this part of the world again we would love to have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Longhouse B&B at Haruru Falls, Paihia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Both John and Mike were very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful with great tips on what to see and where to go. They organised some trips for us, and even dropped us off and picked us up again for one event. The B&B was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, in a quiet, but convenient, location and a great place to return to after a tiring day of touring. We had an evening meal which John cooked on our last evening and it was delicious.

Room Tip: The King room was very large and had its own little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you. We are really pleased you enjoyed the King Room at Longhouse. The Bay of Islands is a magical place and we are really thrilled you enjoyed the tours you went on. We both enjoyed having dinner with you on your final night and still brings back happy memories of your time with us. Hope all is well in the Uk and hope to see you again if you travel to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful 2 nights stay at Longhouse, everything was just perfect,the location, the room which was modern, well appointed and very clean was extremely comfortable.
Our hosts John and Mike were friendly, very helpful and the best hosts, the breakfasts were wonderful also.

If you are wanting a luxurious place to stay in the Bay of Islands being extremely well looked after then Longhouse is the place to be,

thank you John and Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. No doubt you will be well back into the Waiheke routine by now. It was great looking after you and hope that we will be able to sometime again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, 1st January to 3rd. The house is just a delight, and the setting is beautiful. John was so helpful and kind. He is a great cook, too. We had an evening meal that was delicious. He is so friendly and he relaxes one straight away. We can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzongwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Having visited Bournemouth last year in June it was lovely having people to stay who were from there. 2013 is moving on quickly but it was so nice to have you here for the new year period. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal as it is always a pleasure cooking for guests whilst they are here. We hope the rest of your visit to New Zealand was a pleasureable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location as a base to explore Paihia, Waitangi and the Bay of Islands, excellent, spotless accommodation in a scenic location, and extremely helpful hosts,who even gave us lifts when our car broke down! Great home made breakfasts, too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review,It is always a great treat for us to catch up with our guest's who have lived in the same cities that we have in the UK. it is all part of our service to help with any problems that may come along, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We rolled into a bustling Paihia without a place to stay and Longhouse was one of the offerings at iSite. Great choice! Mike and John were excellent, welcoming hosts with a big, comfortable king bed and a quiet balcony to watch the stars. They had good recommendations for things to do, offered good company if we wanted it, and we did enoy a glass of wine with them at night and an amazing home cooked high street restaurant quality breakfast in the morning on great English china. As we pulled out after breakfast, both hosts were there to wave us on our way. A most delightful stay - highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OrebudJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Guys .... Thanks for your comments. It was great having you here and just a shame you could not stay longer. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand is enjoyable and we hope that you will make it back again soon. Hope all your plans go well for Oregon .. Once again it was a pleasure looking after you and safe travels ... Mike and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia for all of the Bay of Islands activities. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. We have three rooms available to our guests. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. The Princess Room is a smaller room and is a shared bathroom with one other room and this has direct access on to the main deck. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in all of the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. There are plenty of other activities available to you that the Bay Of Islands has to offer. You can explore further by driving to the Top Of New Zealand to Cape Reinga and discover the beautiful beaches en route either on your way up or on your return. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing