We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly lovely place to stay, with a great host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A truly lovely place to stay, with a great host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, 1st January to 3rd. The house is just a delight, and the setting is beautiful. John was so helpful and kind. He is a great cook, too. We had an evening meal that was delicious. He is so friendly and he relaxes one straight away. We can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzongwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Having visited Bournemouth last year in June it was lovely having people to stay who were from there. 2013 is moving on quickly but it was so nice to have you here for the new year period. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal as it is always a pleasure cooking for guests whilst they are here. We hope the rest of your visit to New Zealand was a pleasureable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
70
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location as a base to explore Paihia, Waitangi and the Bay of Islands, excellent, spotless accommodation in a scenic location, and extremely helpful hosts,who even gave us lifts when our car broke down! Great home made breakfasts, too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review,It is always a great treat for us to catch up with our guest's who have lived in the same cities that we have in the UK. it is all part of our service to help with any problems that may come along, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We rolled into a bustling Paihia without a place to stay and Longhouse was one of the offerings at iSite. Great choice! Mike and John were excellent, welcoming hosts with a big, comfortable king bed and a quiet balcony to watch the stars. They had good recommendations for things to do, offered good company if we wanted it, and we did enoy a glass of wine with them at night and an amazing home cooked high street restaurant quality breakfast in the morning on great English china. As we pulled out after breakfast, both hosts were there to wave us on our way. A most delightful stay - highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OrebudJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Guys .... Thanks for your comments. It was great having you here and just a shame you could not stay longer. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand is enjoyable and we hope that you will make it back again soon. Hope all your plans go well for Oregon .. Once again it was a pleasure looking after you and safe travels ... Mike and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent B&B with terrific hosts John & Mike. Superb room (King), wonderful and spotless facilities run by a couple who are ever willing to ensure a memorable stay. Food was outstanding (both the breakfasts and BBQ) and our visit to the area became more of a stay with good friends. Our one regret, both for the B&B and Bay of Islands, was that we didn't have the opportunity to stay longer. WIll definitely stay here again when we visit next and thoroughly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: For space the King room cannot be beaten, although the Queen room is also very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. We try to make our guests stay at Longhouse like a home away from home. So pleased you liked the king room. We look forward to your return to NZ and especially to the Bay Of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Longhouse B and B, warm welcome, the room was spacious and clean, The location is great - nesteled in the bush,only few minutes by car from Paihia. Great homemade breakfast! I will come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ..... Thank you for the comments and we both look forward to welcoming you back to Longhouse in the future ... John and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korschenbroich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Longhouse is a beautiful and clean B&B in Paihia. John and Mike are very friendly hosts and John's breakfast is amazing, especially his homemade muesli.
You will find all amanities, you need and can relax on a sunny deck outside.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lioba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were made to feel welcome from the start - a beer and a glass of wine helped! The room was large and the bed comfortable. If the weather had been kinder we would have made more use of the deck. The breakfasts were delicious and substantial. What really made the difference though was the way that John and Mike wanted us to enjoy our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them - John even e us into Paihia to catch a cruise so that we could leave our car with our luggage in it at the Longhouse. I would thoroughly recommend the Longhouse and I am sure we will be back there next time we go to New Zealand.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
3.5 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Kaipatiki Rise | Haruru, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longhouse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spot in the Bay of Islands, Longhouse is an idyllic place to stay to relax and unwind. We are just 3 km from bustling Paihia for all of the Bay of Islands activities. Two minutes to the amazing Haruru Falls and only ten minutes to Kerikeri. We have three rooms available to our guests. The King room with en-suite, King Size bed (can be made into a twin) is situated at one end of the house for privacy that has its own balcony and entrance. The Queen Room with En-Suite is situated at the opposite end of the house with own entrance and balcony adjoining to the main deck area. The Princess Room is a smaller room and is a shared bathroom with one other room and this has direct access on to the main deck. Delicious Full English or Continental Breakfasts are included in all of the room prices. Dinner is also available by prior arrangement. A two minute drive to Paihia to enjoy your Island Boat Trips, Russell, Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the local Golf Course or just to relax on the local beach. There are plenty of other activities available to you that the Bay Of Islands has to offer. You can explore further by driving to the Top Of New Zealand to Cape Reinga and discover the beautiful beaches en route either on your way up or on your return. With all this on your doorstep come and join us at Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. You won’t regret it. Your hosts John and Mike will look forward to welcoming guests to Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Longhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bed And Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing