We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run Aground on Shippey's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shippey's - CLOSED

Shippey's
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run Aground on Shippey's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great food, except the chippies were a bit greasy and vinegar need some more punch. Marvelous old ship with classic downstairs. Try the homemade ginger beer...eeeow!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Delicious fish and chips but very chaotic on our visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The battered Jon Dory and chips ($25 with a small beer) when they eventually arrived after the first were sent back, were fresh and perfectly cooked. The downside was a 45 minute wait as two staff struggled to take orders from, and serve, a crammed restaurant including a party of 20. My food was initially a reject from the party table which had been offered to them, taken away and left to get cold before the waiter thought that it would be a good idea to sneakily offer the plate to me.
The service aside, it is easy to see why this venue is so popular as we dined watching the sun set over Paihia Bay whilst oyster catchers and shags waded on the estuary a few metres away.
Great food but more staff needed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great and fresh fish & chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I ate here twice during my stay in Paihia as it was close to my hotel. The atmosphere is nice and the location is perfect for beautiful sunsets. Dinner was reasonably priced as well. I had the fish, chips and salad both nights. They have two options for fish each night and they seem to change every day. I tired the trevaly and the dory fish - both were very good. I would recommend a stop here!

Helpful?
Thank ClemsonWendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great fun and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Not much to look at but I liked the funkie atmosphere. A beaten up old sailing ship turned into a basic but interesting restaurant. You place your order and pay right at the counter when you arrive. Nice view, good service, moderate prices and FABULOUS fish n chips (we had 2 types)!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“casual dining fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Loved the unusual setting of the old ship as a cafe - it made the fish and chip meal just that little bit different. We had two different "specials" catch of the day, and both were freshly cooked and delicious. It looked as if it was well used by tourists and locals alike. Don't expect frills, but do enjoy the views and the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iowstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shippey's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing