We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shippey's - CLOSED

Shippey's
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

A little pricey, and not very well run, but it was a cool place to go for a kiwi fish and chip experience. Lots of character. Fresh fish and good chips.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's fish and chips on a boat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Well it's a standard fish and chips meal served on a boat and the boat setting is probably what saves this place. Really great idea executed averagely, which is a real shame. The fish and chips are exactly what you would expect from anywhere else. The portions of chips are generous, had we of known we would of only got 1 portion for 2 people. Looking from a food wastage point of view the portions could be trimmed a little. We did mention that we felt a little 'ripped' maybe give your diners an idea of portion size? After unwrapping our meal we had to flick a bug off of our paper. Obviously this could of come from anywhere been in an outdoor setting and did nothing to affect our overall rating.
All done and said it is what it is...a fish and chip shop on a boat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeffnDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Shippeys is certainly different! The mussel and seafood chowder came in a plastic cup and the fish & chips were served in white butchers paper. So it's got takeaway delivery but nobody wants to take the food away from this magnificent old ship. Also the food just happens to be delicious - well cooked and well priced. Don't bother with the wine and don't expect white table clothes but do go there for good food and a unique setting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie51Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

There is something about eating fish and chips, burgers and seafood on a boat looking at the ocean.
Although it is grounded, it was still pretty cool.
The food is great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great idea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Lovely outlook. Nice fish, burgers and coffee. Prices much the same as other places in Paihia. Good idea with no plates, a surprise. Great boat, a NZ treasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shippey's also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing