We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action”
Review of Busby Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Busby Manor
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Close to the action”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location in Paihia, on the waterfront and easy walk from town and close to several restaurants. The apartments are quite small but everything is in excellent condition including the pool and spa and impeccably clean. The management are very friendly and helpful and have canoes and bikes for hire.

Room Tip: At the rear is quieter as the waterfront can be noisy. All rooms have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    55
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
80
118
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

A neat apartment, a comfortable bed and couches, a small kitchen, but well stocked with utensils and home wares. Everything is neat and tidy. The courtyard and pool area are spotless and the lounges the most comfortable I've come across.
Our only gripe is the lack of any cooling. The nights get a bit muggy and having not even a fan, let alone the air conditioner one has come to expect, is the only fault we could find with the lovely waterfront resort in Paihia.
Also a pleasant walk to wharf and shops.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Busby manor is a timeshare resort located on the north island of New Zealand I have stayed in a two bed room uint and was the best so good I have brought a unit at not Cost at all only transfer fees $450. Any way staff are great when out of way to make holiday the happiest, and the view oh my what great views from your hotel room of the bay of island out of this world. So if staying in paihia this resort is a must stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaws83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Busby Manor was the perfect setting for our family holiday to Paihia. Located close to the town centre and just across the road from a fantastic, child-friendly beach. The units are small but very clean with newly fitted bathroom and kitchen facilities, and contained everything we could want. A old fashioned but very serviceable cot was provided as well and extra sets of cot sheets and blankets in case we need to change the bedding. The staff are very friendly and helpful with advice about places to go and things to do locally, even finding a hot water bottle for us to soothe a sore tummy! We were grateful to be placed in a downstairs unit located away from other guests so that we didn't have to worry about our pre-schoolers' noise disturbing anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Be careful if you advance book with tnis accomodation. A booking was made in April when checked in June the reservation had been changed from a ground floor unit to an upstairs unit not good if disabled. Reservation was changed with an appology however 1 week prior to arrival in September the booking was moved to a totally different facility in Paihia. :-(

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RodH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very centrally placed in Paihia and within easy walking distance of the town itself with its restaurants, shops and the beach was across the road. View of the beach and sea from our balcony.
Some money has been spent on updating the unit. The bathroom and kitchen looked newly fitted. Everything you could want in the kitchen was available. One plug in radiator heater and one small fan heater, together with electric blankets actually were enough to keep us warm for the week we were visiting. The curtains and bed covers looked new.
However, there is no extractor fan in the bathroom which meant that we had to have the bathroom windows open pretty much all the time to let the condensation out.
The beds weren't very firm and the sofa was also quite uncomfortable.
There is Wifi available but you do have to pay for it. We opted for the $45.00 for 7 days use but the 1GB limit showed as being used. When I mentioned this to the office staff, they were kind enough to refund the $45.00.I found the office staff very friendly and knowledgeable.
Also, the walls are pretty thin. There were some very noisy occupants in the next unit that had an "incident" at 5.00am one day and we were kept awake till 6.30am. Having said that, they were moved and we were not disturbed after they moved.
There was a note asking for all used linen, towels etc to be placed in the laundry bag supplied and for all rubbish to be put in outside bins etc. I didn't really mind but I don't think that this is something that International visitors would appreciate. We have certainly never had to do it at other RCI resorts we have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful Paihia! The accomodation is fine but not really luxury. No dishwasher, no LCD TV, heating only by wee fan heater, coin operated facilities, payment for equipment. Internet access very expensive. But central and adaquete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lantsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busby Manor

Property: Busby Manor
Address: 34 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Hotel Class:3 star — Busby Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Busby Manor Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing