We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Holiday park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay of Islands Holiday park
Ranked #15 of 22 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Has potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The spot by the river is lovely but our trip was ruined by the fact that the staff were unhelpful in most cases and did almost nothing to manage the noise at night. Subsequently we were kept awake a lot. Most campgrounds have someone that goes around and quietens the place down at about 10.30 or 11 and there were signs about but these were not enforced. These guys dont seem to care if nobody sleeps. The pool and toilets were less than clean, but the kitchen was good. A number of the appliances didnt seem to work though. Nice rec room and lovely mature trees which would make this a great place to stay if it was just managed with a bit more enthusiasm. We would definitely not stay there again. I guess goo for those wanting a nopisy party time with no restrictions....not for families

Room Tip: If you are tenting, go by the river... the road noise on the other side is a pain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmjbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
241 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With so many RVs on the road these days, it’s great to review a great camping ground. Bay of Islands Holiday Park is an ideal stop-off point if you’re visiting Paihia and Kerikeri. The park is only a few minutes from Paihia, set in tree-studded surroundings with the Waitangi River running alongside. The park has powered and unpowered sites, cabins, motels, well equipped kitchen, excellent shower and toilet facilities, swimming pool and kids’ playground. We have stayed here several times and consider it to be the best in the BOI region. It’s also handy for touring, boating, golf and so on. The managers are knowledgeable about what’s to do, they’re very friendly and helpful and their staff keep the park spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have visited this site for many years using the camp grounds and cabins (budget cabins through to a small house). It is a spacious site by a lovely river. The amenities are clean and well maintained (laundry, cooking, playground, swimming pool).
The people working there are welcoming, give advice on local events and are clearly committed to keeping the site at its best.
It is located 7km out of Paihai and Kerikeri is a little further the other way. This is a perfect hideaway base location to explore the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were apprehensive of staying in this holiday park at first because of its distance from the town centre. It was such a lovely spot though - very quiet and spacious with nice views of the river from the motel unit. The location was also handy for exploring this part of the Bay of Islands since it was on the way to Kerikeri and not far from Waitangi. The cottage itself was large and was more like a small house than a motel unit. It was also well equipped with full oven, cutlery etc. The kids playground was also great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Of Plenty
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A really nice and lovely camp ground near the river.
Clean faciltities - lovely swimming pool - neat playground - flying fox.
We stayed in a gorgeous 2 brm fully self-contained lockwood cottage with a nice huge balcony and had our own patio furntiure incl umbrella to use!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
1.9 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#10 of 28 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bay of Islands Holiday Apartments and Campervan Park Ltd
0.9 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#11 of 185 in Northland Region
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Holiday park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Holiday park

Property: Bay of Islands Holiday park
Address: Puketona Rd | Paihia, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay of Islands Holiday park 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a large tree studded park along side the Waitangi River.Safe swimming in river and kayaks to hire. We offer a range of accommodation from well-presented tourist flats to cabins and plenty of level powered and non-powered sites, for tenting and campervans and caravans. We cater for large school groups with our simple but comfortable cabins.Central location allows your to enjoy the best of all the activities the beautiful Bay of Islands has to offer with a 10 minute drive to Paihia or Keri Keri.We have wireless internet and are pet friendly (sorry no pets in tourist flats)We also have holiday homes in central Paihia please inquire for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bay of Islands Holiday park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Holiday Park Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing