We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“best hostel, since staying in nz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabeds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seabeds
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best hostel, since staying in nz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

this will be our last night at Seabeds, so sorry to have to move on, this place is fantastic, beautiful clean rooms, and very friendly staff, always read to help, views from upstairs are fantastic overlooking the bay. would recommend to anyone. need to book in advance as so popular during peek season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcurdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
34
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our return trip to NZ two years after our orginal review. The same excellent accommodation but I would advise you phone to book in advance during January/Febuary as it now has a full listing in the BBH and other guides and is very popular.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma7Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean quiet well decorated hostel with very polite and helpful staff. Excellent location just off the beach with single beds rather than bunks very modern bathroom, kitchen diner and lounge TV area.
I would recommend to stay here rather than the other backpackers for those seeking a good nights sleep and something a little more relaxing than the party hostels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oj_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hostel (although it is more like staying at a motel) is great. Very clean and comfortable, with a brilliant ensuite (better than my bathroom at home!). The shared facilities are also in great condition and very clean. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The hostel is located out of the main area of town a little bit though (about 10-15min walk). If you don't mind this than this is a great place to stay, but if you really want to be close to the pubs/clubs, there are closer options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David50013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Paihia - it's been converted from a Motel to a Backpackers Hostel so the double rooms are a good size and some have ensuites - we stayed in a room upstairs and had a great view looking out to sea. It's located around the corner from the main shopping area but is only about a 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal - there's a dairy close by or you can walk or drive to a Countdown Supermarket which is also fairly close located on the road out to KeriKeri. The owner (Marie) is very friendly and helpful - we thought the room price was very reasonable - note that there is no TV in room but there is a common room that has one in it. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils etc. This is not a large backpacker so suggest that you would need to book early in the peak summer season - we travelled in August and it was very quiet all thru Northland.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will have a sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy-Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hostel is more a private accomodation than a normal hostel. It has every facilities you need... wonderful rooms, very clean and modern showers, a super modern and big kitchen with clean and big refrigerators, nice dining room, tv-lounge, laundry-machines, internet-access (small fee); some rooms have balcony with a beautiful view to the sea.. the other rooms can use a terrace for sunbathing or just relaxing...and the "landlady" is very helpful and friendly. and to Paihia centre it is only 5- 7 minutes walking... On my trip through New Zealand North Island I never had a better accomodation with this high standard. It is not expensive.I really enjoyed my stay and recommendet it to several other travellers....Thank you for a lovely week in your accomodation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Seabeds is found at the far end of Paihia not far from where the bridge starts to take you over to the treaty grounds.
As many others have said the place has recently been refurbished. We stopped in a double ensuite upstairs from which you can see the ocean from when stood outside on the balcony.
The room had a lovely large confortable double bed with good quality bedding with a nicely finished quality ensuite shower room with toilet. Marie keeps the place spottlessly clean. If your stopping a while the double room has a rack to hang your clothes on and a couple of bedside units.

Seabeds has a lovely large kitchen dining area on the 2nd floor. Each room has a shelf in one of the large fridges so plenty of space to keep your food cool. Kitchen also has 3 full hobs and one full oven and a microwave, 2 toasters and 2 sinks for washing up afterwards. Enough pots, pans, plates and cutlery that you can cook any meal of any complexity.
The kitchen leads on to a dining area with seating for 8, with another area with 2/3 armchairs and a music system for those who dont want to sit at a table. outside the kitchen/dining room on the balcony is a table for 2 to eat alfresco if you like.

The back packers has i think a couble of dorms down stairs and a large family room. Reception is downstairs too which backs on to a laundry area with 2 washers and a dryer taking $2 coins. next to reception is the tv lounge with 2 nice sofas and large tv and dvd player. Marie has kindly put a view boxsets in there for guests to watch as well. A door in the tv lounge takes you into a small room containing 2 pc's costing a $ for 15 mins or you can buy a code of marie for wifi use if you prefer.

If you need a shop when you get there, count down is a 5 minute walk towards the roundabout and turn left.

We found paihia and seabeds an excellent palce for us to base ourselves for exploring the northland area of new zealand. Having stopped in Russell last time i much prefer being based in paihia, quicker road access to the rest of the northland and more life than its near neighbour russell to if not the charm.

Marie is an excellent host, with great knowledge of the local area and is always happy to advise. She also responded very quick on email when we looked at booking the room. Theres plenty of parking. Rooms dont come with towels so you need to bring your own.

If you could guarantee all backpackers were this quality then you wouldnt book anything else. would not hesitate to recommend seabeds as a place to stay. It's a great find if you can get in.
I've given this 5 stars because its not a motel it's a back packers. great value for great accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: go for an upstairs room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#2 of 28 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#11 of 28 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabeds

Property: Seabeds
Address: 46 Davis Crescent, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabeds Backpackers is a charming, up-market hostel, providing a touch of luxury at a budget price in Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland. The upper rooms (including the kitchen/common room) have unimpeded sea views. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Seabeds has a large modern kitchen (some say the best hostel kitchen in NZ) and boasts a separate media room, laundry facilities, free off-street parking and relaxing outdoor areas. Just a few steps to Ti Bay, Paihia's beautiful beach, and 800m to the town centre, Seabeds offers delightful, pristine accommodation in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabeds Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing