We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a well positioned and well run bnb. Our room had a separate lounge with several windows and a lovely view. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you could need including a very comfortable bed. It is an easy walk to the sea front and restaurants.

Breakfast, weather permitting, is served outside to take advantage of the view and consisted of fruit, cereal, bread and a meat platter. A little strange to those from the UK who are used to being offered a cooked breakfast but very enjoyable.

The hosts are very professional and are very willing to share their knowledge and enthusiasm for the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayT37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
97
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
306 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in March and couldn't have wanted for more of anything. The accommodation is superb, the food fantastic and Lynda and Roger the perfect hosts. The location is great too just above Paihia with great views and blissful peace and quiet. If Marlin is only ranked 5th the first 4 must be sensational.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and are very well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were scheduled to arrive on the eve of Christmas Eve in Paihia in december 2012.. However, due to the hurricane that was blowing down from the North of New Zealand, we were extremely delayed and did not arrive till way past 10pm. However, Roger was a really gracious host and waited for our arrival.

The next day we had a wonderful breakfast cooked up by Roger and served by Lynda. We felt really pampered. It was a wonderful feeling given the gloomy weather that greeted us that rainy morning. With out Bay of Islands cruise a total washout, Roger & Lynda suggested we pay a little visit to nearby Kerikeri as well as to visit the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The winery and chocolate factory which they introduced us to were simply amazing!

When we were leaving on Christmas morning, we had no idea if the weather had cleared up at Cape Reinga but once again Lynda was very gracious and offered to contact a relative living up North to check on the weather for us. It really helped us to decide if we should carry on with our plans to head all the way north or to head back south to Auckland.

The breakfast cooked by Roger is simply superb and the best we had throughout our 3 weeks in New Zealand. We really enjoyed our stay with them and look forward to catching up with the both of them the next time we are back in New Zealand! Hopefully this time, it will be sunny!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohnivla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Absolutely brilliant! We were in need of a break from the treadmill of life and couldn't have asked for anything better. Returned home fully rested, relaxed and ready to go. Lynda And Roger are wonderful hosts with a great knowledge and experience of the area and they operate Marlin House to a very high standard. We stayed in the lovely Blue Room. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great welcome from Lynn & Roger, at Marlin House, even though we and two other couples arrived mid-afternoon at exactly the same time! Large 'colonial' style building set up hillside with timber balconies around offering superb views of Paihia Bay. Car parking on raised deck immediately outside B&B. Large well furnished accommodation (Green Room), including facilities - dining table, fridge, microwave, etc - for dining in, should one wish. Large bathroom with view over bay. Weather permitted us to join other guests on large veranda, facing rising sun, to enjoy continental/cooked breakfast, again with view over bay. Stayed 3 nights and breakfast varied each day - not your 'run of the mill' bacon & eggs! Thought, detailed preparation and attractive presentation goes in to what is served. Delicious! Lynn & Roger are attentive hosts, without being intrusive, keen for guests to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

With a huge room (and bed), a dining table & chairs, a large sofa, quiet fridge, microwave etc and great views, what's not to like?? Breakfast was on a deck with fantastic views, and Lynda & Roger were most attentive. It was great being a few minutes walk from the town, as we could stroll there and watch the big fish weigh-in at 5pm, amongst other things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lynda and Roger were the perfect hosts. We received a very warm welcome which made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they couldn't do enough for us. Their advice on where to go and what to see enabled us to make the most of our time. Our room was perfect in every way with every amenity available plus the added bonus of a balcony that had views you couldn't put a price on. The breakfast area had an equally stunning panorama from which to see the early morning sun and enjoy the delicious food on offer. We really didn't want to leave but hope that we might be lucky one day to be able to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking.Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafe's, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dinning area, ensuite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are alson provided.With Rogers restaurant/chef, experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the days many activities this region has to offer. Tailord excursions or activities can be orgainised. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing