We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This delightful B&B is an excellent choice. Guests have separate entrance to their rooms, which are spotlessly clean and very comfortably furnished. Rooms have a balcony, where you can sit and look at the stunning views. Guests eat breakfasts outside,if weather permits, and have an opportunity to meet other guests at the shared dining table. Breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. The fruit plates are
particularly good. Lynda and Roger were very obliging hosts, who helped us to make the most of our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Marlin in February for 2 nights - Roger & Lynda were great hosts helping us to make the most of our time in Paihai, great breakfast to start the day , excellent location , lovely room and view from the deck, it couldn't have been better

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. The place has a gorgeous view of the water, they are up on a hill. The rooms are a little outdated and could use some updates. They are really big with a big living room and eat in area.
Linda and Roger are extremely nice and friendly and very helpful with all the tourists places and restaurants.
Their breakfasts are just delicious! And they even did a big breakfast for us one morning we had to eat at 6:30 am!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ampy2679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

When I checked this B&B out on TA, I was amazed that it had 100% of the reviews at 'excellent'. After having stayed there, I now know why. We were in the Gold Room which has its own private balcony and huge picture windows across the front. The view as the sun rises in the morning is stunning ... and you can watch it in bed! The hotel location is away from the busy shore area and is wonderfully quiet. Breakfast is great and beautifully presented and is served on a deck with even more stunning views. Lynda and Roger are excellent hosts ... helpful but not intrusive. I can only add my excellent rating to the rest.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms ... All three were occupied and all the guests seemed very happy. We wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a beautiful B&B and such wonderful hosts. We stayed in the green room for 5 nights in February,2013. I worried if the steps might be too much but they weren't. We really only needed to bring our suitcases up 4 steps from the parking spot. It was a bit of hike up from the bottom of the hill but we are in our 60s and not in the best of shape. The breakfasts were very tasty. We needed an early wake up one morning and had a knock at our door and breakfast left in our room the night before. Lynda was very accommodating when we needed some clothes washed and the laudramat was closed. She even folded them for us. Roger had expressed some concern about how dirty our windows were for our drive back to Auckland. Next morning he had not only washed the windows but the whole van. Talk about going above and beyond. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found Marlin House to be the most delightful bed & breakfast accommodation. Our room had fantastic views and had superb facilities. Lynda & Roger could not do enough for us. We stayed for 3 nights in the gold room. Each morning we were served a different breakfast. All were delicious.
Marlin House is well placed for a short walk to shops and restaurants. Lynda & Roger were able to recommend places to go and where to eat.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Pahia then you should try to book Marlin House. It seems be consistently busy so make sure you make a reservation in advance. We have already told our Kiwi relatives about this fantastic b&b. Steve&Jayne Lederman

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet & restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a nice time I spent with Lynda & Roger! They are just perfect hosts and make you feel at home. The weather was not that good, so I had to stay inside for breakfast, but was treated like a queen. The bedroom and living room made sort of a little apartment, where I felt very at home. I can highly recommend the Marlin House B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 21 in Paihia
237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baystay B&B
Baystay B&B
#9 of 21 in Paihia
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $136 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin House is a comfortable colonial-style home set in a subtropical garden with ample off-street parking. Substantial decks provide stunning views of the Bay of Islands. An easy four minute walk to the beach, wharf, cafes, restaurants and central Paihia. Marlin House offers three generous sized suites, each with a private entrance, a sitting and dining area, en suite, fridge, microwave and TV. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided. With Roger's restaurant/chef experience we look forward to treating you to a special breakfast which will ensure a great start to the day's many activities this region has to offer. Tailored excursions or activities can be organized. Lunch hampers and evening meals are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Marlin House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing