We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Paihia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Paihia
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were a bit disappointed in this accommodation. We got stuck with a unit that hasn't been refurbished in a decade and it was obvious. The decor was dated and ugly and the worst part was that it smelled like a mixture of musty and old medicine. We even tried using air fresheners and none of them worked. It made us not want to spend any time there. Most of my interactions with the staff were friendly but the woman at the desk when I checked in was a little rude. The hot tub only halfway worked. The main manager was very nice and friendly and the location is very good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lousidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette D, Manager at Club Paihia, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Club Paihia was built in the mid 80's and is currently being refurbished in stages. The refurbishment programme is well underway and there are only 3 chalets left to refurbish. It is unfortunate that we havent been able to complete refurbishment all at once but with 55 units onsite it is a large financial outlay. Club Paihia is still a great resort to stay at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The chalet listed has not been renovated since the 1970's. It is dirty and smells. Suggest avoiding this room at all costs. We were excited about this resort but left in short order after 1 night. Apparently they were fully booked and did not have any alternatives to offer.

This resort is located on a very steep incline if you have any mobility issues, suggest somewhere different.

The location of Paihia/Russell is very much worth a visit, very beautiful and provides central access to a lot of places.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette D, Manager at Club Paihia, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Unit 86 was built in the mid 1980's and has been refurbished approximately 10 years ago. It is due for refurbishment in the next year or so. Unfortunately the office was closed due to your late arrival and I did not get to see you upon check out as you left early. I did make contact with you on your cellphone and explained that we were fully occupied so could not accommodate your request to move you to a refurbished unit. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We checked in early to Club Paihia and after shopping at the local supermarket we were given the keys at 3.30 and unpacked for the first time in a week.

We were told that internet is unreliable and weak in this area so we were feeling alone and adrift from the world (sic). Subsequently found ‘fasterbroadband.com’ which had a mast just over the road. We bought a $5 card from the internet café in the Paihia Mall (No.2) which gave us 100 mb. and no time limit.

The Club Paihia site is on a very steep hill and we were grateful that unit 15 was near the front of the resort. It is a nice 2 bedroom unit, about 950 square feet plus the 20 foot long balcony but had only one aircon unit which was in the lounge. The unit was well appointed and well-presented and it’s easy to see why this club is a gold crown resort. That said, there was no safe and bizarrely, the bedroom TV was at a 90 degree angle to the bed when it could have been wall mounted facing the bed!

There was a 32 inch flat screen TV in the lounge and a full dining table which easily seated 6. The kitchen was fully equipped with a hob and a full electric oven, large fridge and freezer. As the duty Chef, it was good to find that the small appliances and cooking pots were all of high quality and the knives were very sharp.

There was a 5 ft queen bed in the main bedroom and two singles in the second room. All had electric blankets. The shower in the en-suite was a good size cubicle with high pressure thermostatic water flow.

The laundry room is shared by the 3 units in each section so this was never a problem and the Club supplied an initial ration of washing powder.

There are no sea views from this site but I would certainly recommend the Club and would chose to stay here again. The front Desk staff are very knowledgeable and able to sell tours at a discount price.

Room Tip: Phone ahead if you have issues with mobility as the resort is on a steep hill. No views of the sea f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A Lovely Resort, we stayed for a week in one of the units and I loved the HEATED pools since I'm a bit of a wuss with the cold. They also had quite a few spa pools which I'm pleased to say I also got to know better. There are bikes you can use for free (even though i didn't have time to use) but is close to the shop's and the Paihia Wharf, I'd say even less than a 5 minute walk. Recommend staying if you can get a room, the only downside is finding someone to rent you a room as resort is time share.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumbucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The property is very handy to shops, local attractions, restaurant ,beaches, number of good local walks, local market at Pahia and Keri Keri is great,you should do a fishing trip as well,a trip to Keri Keri and lunch/dinner at Wharepuke

Room Tip: Very hilly property, so a lot of walking up hill if you don't have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BkandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were offered a timeshare at the last minute...very surprised how spacious the two bedroom two bathroom apartment was...everything was so clean .
Would be a great place for families. Very steep driveway but good exercise.
Very close to the shops and beach. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LyndyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Second visit to Club Paihia saw us in a 1 bed unit (Feb2011 in 2 bed unit). The units have all the comforts of home with plenty of space. Unit placement and resort layout ensures enough privacy, with no complaints about inter-unit noise. The resort is really clean, well maintained & quiet, with constant unit refurbishment (typical of time-share resorts), & located on the side of a hill so may be a problem for anyone with mobility restrictions. (you can always drive from your unit to the main facilities if you want) If the Bay of Islands doesn't have enough attractions for you, the resort itself has excellent recreational & relaxation facilities (although we didn't have time to use them) for kids & adults alike. Good restaurants & attractions are a 2 min walk away, with the supermarket & takeaway liquor less than 5 min drive away. Take advantage of the in-house tour desk advisor, (great local knowledge & saves you queuing at the tourist info centre). Staff are great, where nothing was too much trouble. The only thing missing (which is not really a problem) is a view of the Bay, but this is an advantage as the resort is back from the main street so is wonderfully quiet at night. We would come again anytime.

Room Tip: Higher up the hill units are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travel-Sitreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Paihia

Property: Club Paihia
Address: 67 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Paihia is a secluded hillside resort located in the coastal town of Paihia, near the Bay of Islands in New Zealand's North Island. The Classic Managed Resort features 54 fully self-contained studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with facilities including a spa, BBQ area, gym, tennis court, lounge, children's play area, bicycles and heated outdoor swimming pool. With a picturesque location surrounded by stunning North Island bushland, this Paihia accommodation is handy to chartered boat cruises, sea kayaks for paddling around the Bay of Islands, and day excursions to the nearby Haruru Falls. Guests can discover the Bay of Islands with the help of the in-house tour desk for information and tour bookings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing