We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunseeker Cottages Motel to your Saves list
Sunseeker Cottages Motel
4 Ash Grove Circle, off Puketona Rd | 3 minutes drive Paihia, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked here due to good reviews and wasn't disappointed. It was just as described by previous reviewers, clean and comfortable and really great value for money. Our family of 3 was very comfortable in the warm two bedroom cottage. Lovely views over rural Haruru and only a few minutes drive from Paihia

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked 3 of the 4 cottages over the Easter period for a family holiday and they were perfect. The children were able to go between cottages and the adjacent play ground area in a safe enviroment. The family discussed the accommodation and none of us could find fault. We found the cottages clean and containing everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Each evening we got together - 8 adults and 4 children for dinner in one of the units and we did not feel it was crowded. The easter eggs in each unit when we arrived was a great finishing touch to a very enjoyable weekend. Thank you Jill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at Sunseeker Cottages. We were glad to be in the quiet location of Haruru Falls just 5 minutes from Paihia.

If you have a car it's easy travelling distance to Russell (on the ferry), Waitangi Treaty Grounds and Kerikeri. There are plenty of places to eat in Paihia. We tried the RSA and had a great meal at a reasonable price.

The cottages are clean and well equipped with everything you need for self-catering - full size oven, microwave, fridge/freezer and BBQ on the deck. There is also a laundry with a fair priced honesty system for washing and drying. The only negatives for us were the mattress was only OK and we would have liked air-conditioning on the first two warmer nights. Would be quite hot in summer.

Jill, the host, was super helpful with ideas for things to do in the area. Thanks Jill for the tip about the fresh oysters on the road to Russell ($12 for a dozen and delicious!) and also the Pizza Barn in Waipu (just off the main highway half-way between Paihia and Auckland) - great pizzas and what an interesting building (used to be the post office) with all the memorabilia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daintree, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunseekers Cottages for a long stay at the end of last year (6 weeks). We are in the hospitality industry and just needed some time to relax, bbq and enjoy the clean, comfortable surrondings found at Sunseekers.
We were able to easily keep in touch with friends & family via the internet, watch movies, take nice long walks and enjoy all the Bay of Islands has on offer. We enjoyed having the option of cooking at "home" or taking the short ride into Paihia or KeriKeri for a restaurant meal or takeaways.
Jill, the owner was absolutely amazing and helpful. We were impressed by the way we felt private yet know if we needed anything, Jill would look after us...thank you!!!
Highly recommend for short or long stays!!
See you soon Jill.
Cheers, Michael and Kim

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong. We enjoyed the second one form the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We needed two bedroom accommodation (2 couples holidaying together) , which was a little difficult to find in Paihia. We found and booked this place online as all the photos looked fine, but we were a little worried as the price seemed too good and we've been caught before with websites not showing the true picture.

However, I was tempted not to write this review as we would love to keep this little gem to ourselves. It really is as good as it looks on its website.

On check-in Jill was very friendly with plenty of advice on what to do in the area. The cottages are wonderful little homes and we really appreciated touches like the gas bbq on the veranda. The only improvement that could be made is air-conditioning. Thoughtfully two fans are provided but they only circulate the very warm air. Please Jill, aircon would make these cottages perfect.

We will certainly stay here again and will tell all of our freinds of this great find.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found this lovely place through the owners of the Ash Grove Motel which is next door. We had been very disappointed by our original booking in Paihia and decided not to stay. The two bedroom cottage was a godsend and as different from the first place as could be and all at the same price.

Jill was so welcoming and when we saw the cottage we were absolutely delighted. It was beautifully appointed with good quality furnishings, a lovely sun deck and space under to hang washing. We were able to borrow DVDs free of charge and there was also free Wifi. The views across the hills were magificent and it was only a few minutes drive into Paihia and the local shops.

It was an real pleasure staying there and I would definitely come again if holidaying in the area.

Thanks Jill for making our stay in Paihia perfect. Chris, Jade & Charlie

Room Tip: All four cottages have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great value immaculate cozy cottages. The only down side (plus for us) is it is 5 mins out of town, quiet and peaceful. Great warm friendly service our hosts could not do enough for us. the cottages are superb and great value. Lovely hot and strong showers, something we haven't had often on our trip to date. Well stocked kitchen with good knives ( we like cooking). Perfect!

Room Tip: Last two not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique-Hes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Property: Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Address: 4 Ash Grove Circle, off Puketona Rd | 3 minutes drive Paihia, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 separate private self-contained cottages. Ideal for a longer stays. Two bedroom, queen in one bedroom, and two singles in smaller second bedroom. Sleeps 2 - 4 and 1 child on couch. Additional d=fee for extra persons over 2. Full kitchens, incl Fridge/Freezer, and full oven. 32" LCD TV, CD, DVD (no Sky) Large private outdoor deck with rural veiws. Outdoor table and chairs and BBQ. Great for families. Children’s playground. No daily maid service. Private and set well back from road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunseeker Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing