We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Daintree, Australia
2 reviews
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunseekers Cottages for a long stay at the end of last year (6 weeks). We are in the hospitality industry and just needed some time to relax, bbq and enjoy the clean, comfortable surrondings found at Sunseekers.
We were able to easily keep in touch with friends & family via the internet, watch movies, take nice long walks and enjoy all the Bay of Islands has on offer. We enjoyed having the option of cooking at "home" or taking the short ride into Paihia or KeriKeri for a restaurant meal or takeaways.
Jill, the owner was absolutely amazing and helpful. We were impressed by the way we felt private yet know if we needed anything, Jill would look after us...thank you!!!
Highly recommend for short or long stays!!
See you soon Jill.
Cheers, Michael and Kim

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong. We enjoyed the second one form the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We needed two bedroom accommodation (2 couples holidaying together) , which was a little difficult to find in Paihia. We found and booked this place online as all the photos looked fine, but we were a little worried as the price seemed too good and we've been caught before with websites not showing the true picture.

However, I was tempted not to write this review as we would love to keep this little gem to ourselves. It really is as good as it looks on its website.

On check-in Jill was very friendly with plenty of advice on what to do in the area. The cottages are wonderful little homes and we really appreciated touches like the gas bbq on the veranda. The only improvement that could be made is air-conditioning. Thoughtfully two fans are provided but they only circulate the very warm air. Please Jill, aircon would make these cottages perfect.

We will certainly stay here again and will tell all of our freinds of this great find.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found this lovely place through the owners of the Ash Grove Motel which is next door. We had been very disappointed by our original booking in Paihia and decided not to stay. The two bedroom cottage was a godsend and as different from the first place as could be and all at the same price.

Jill was so welcoming and when we saw the cottage we were absolutely delighted. It was beautifully appointed with good quality furnishings, a lovely sun deck and space under to hang washing. We were able to borrow DVDs free of charge and there was also free Wifi. The views across the hills were magificent and it was only a few minutes drive into Paihia and the local shops.

It was an real pleasure staying there and I would definitely come again if holidaying in the area.

Thanks Jill for making our stay in Paihia perfect. Chris, Jade & Charlie

Room Tip: All four cottages have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great value immaculate cozy cottages. The only down side (plus for us) is it is 5 mins out of town, quiet and peaceful. Great warm friendly service our hosts could not do enough for us. the cottages are superb and great value. Lovely hot and strong showers, something we haven't had often on our trip to date. Well stocked kitchen with good knives ( we like cooking). Perfect!

Room Tip: Last two not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique-Hes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great apartment, jill was really helpful, really clean with lots of extras and a great terrace BBQ.
Kids loved the playarea!! Good laundry facilities.
When we are in paihia again, we will be back! Tony, Holly, Charlie & Esther

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James46robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Sunseeker for 2 weeks in mar/april 2012 and was so impressed with the cleanliness and amenities offered we would have no hesitation in recommending any of our friends to stay there.The two bedroom units are more than adequate for a long holiday as everything conceivable item needed to make our stay comfortable was there. Jill the owner could not do enough to help and was very knowledgable in recommending places of interest. With wireless internet it meant while being a long way from home you were always able to keep in contact with friends and family. The units are ideally situated being away from the busy town of Paihia but conveniently close enough to pop down to shop and enjoy a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary1947_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillsunseeker, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
I trust the rest of your trip was enjoyable also
Hope you can come this way again one day.!
Kindest Regards Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sunseeker cottages while attending a wedding in Feb 2012 as a couple plus 7 month old baby.

The cottages are modern Lockwood type construction two bedroom units with plenty of space. Furnishings are comfortable.

The manager was really helpful and found an excellent babysitter for our son while we were at the wedding reception.

You will need a car however as the cottages are about 5 min drive from Paihia.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_and_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
2.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.0 mi away
Ash Grove Motel
Ash Grove Motel
#26 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Cottages Motel

Property: Sunseeker Cottages Motel
Address: 4 Ash Grove Circle | Haruru Falls Paihia, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 separate private self-contained Lockwood cottages. Ideal for a long & short stays. Two bedroom, queen in one bedroom, and two singles in smaller second bedroom. Sleeps 2 - 4 Full kitchens, incl Fridge/Freezer, and full oven. 32" LCD TV, CD, DVD Large private outdoor deck with rural veiws. Outdoor table and chairs and BBQ. Great for families. Children's playground. No daily maid service. Private/Quite and set well back from road on large park like grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunseeker Cottages Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing