We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on vacation from Canada...great trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explore - Dune Rider Cape Reinga

Explore - Dune Rider Cape Reinga
Ranked #11 of 49 Tours in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the landscape on this full day adventure to Cape Reinga. Drive along the sand highway of 90 Mile Beach as the ocean roars alongside you. Immerse yourself in the culture and history of the Far North on this adventure to the top of NZ.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“on vacation from Canada...great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Anyone visiting the northern part of New Zealand should take this tour! Our guide,Paul,was informative,cheerful and made the day!
This was a one day tour which encompassed a huge area and also some hidden gems we would never have found on our own...gumtrees,extensive drive on the beach at low tide,sandboarding,and other things too numerous to mention. To see and do everything we did would have taken days for us to do ourselves...and even then we probably wouldn't have found "the best fish n chips"....and they were.
I would highly recommend this tour,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    61
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip with driver/guide Paul who was very friendly, helpful and informative. I was hesitant on sand boarding at a mature age but managed to eventually complete a run from the top and loved it with Paul's encouragement and help. Overall we were glad that we took the tour as it saved a lot of driving, to completely relax, and being informed. We would not have experienced the drive up 90mile beach if we had taken our own car so that was worth it. I would recommend this to everyone including NZers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We really enjoyed this. Our guide gave an informative commentary and inspired confidence. The day was really well-organised and ran like clockwork. The Gumdiggers was interesting, the dune riding great fun and driving on 90 Mile Beach was amazing. I would urge anyone to dune board. We are seniors and not very brave but we are so glad we had a go. The optional fish and chips at Mangonui was a delicious way to end the trip. Thank you, Explore NZ.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“north of north”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A great way to see the North of the north island. Daniel was informative, friendly and a good driver. Thoroughly recommend. Regular stops. Adequate packed lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discovering the North!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great day with Dune Rider while discovering the northern area of New Zealand.
Early in the morning the coach picked us up from our accommodation in Kerikeri before we started our wonderful tour. Our guide was very friendly and open minded and gave us so much information about the different locations and their history. The first stop was Gumdiggers Park, where we had the chance to walk through an old gum digging area. An hour later we arrived on my personal Highlight of the day - 90 Mile Beach. We drove along the beach and had fantastic views while stopping near the Hole in the Rock. The next stop was filled with action, as we went sandboarding down the dunes. That was so much fun!!! After visiting Ancient Kauri Kingdom and seeing some amazing wodden handcrafts we finished the tour with a delicious fish and chips meal in Mangonui. We really enjoyed the day with Dune Rider and won't forget this unique experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Auckland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore - Dune Rider Cape Reinga also viewed

 

Been to Explore - Dune Rider Cape Reinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing