We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs!”

Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ribs!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The menu is varied but ribs dominate. Relatively (for Paihia) good prices but still not so good value. Wine was NZ$25-30 a bottle but several draught beers on offer. Located on the main street with some ambience and character. Helpful staff too. Seemed to close around 9.30pm with staff clearing tables and stacking chairs around you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    450
    163
    46
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Ribs and Steak”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great food great atmosphere fantastic staff. On the night we visited it was extremely busy, we were told it could be a 15 -30 min wait but we only waited about 5 mins for our table. Kate our waitress was great and went that extra mile with customer service. Great ribs, steak and chicken. Don't have a large entree and serving sizes for main course are large but you can have a doggy bag

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't order the Caesar salad or the fish and chips!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place has a nice atmosphere and things started well. The crab dip was yum and the garlic bread good too. Plus it has a nice vibe to the cafe on the main street of Paihia. One of our party have a burger and liked it very much. I had the caesar salad and it was very poor. The lettuce was coarse leaves and limp, the egg well over cooked, the croutons soggy and the dressing lacked any taste. The fish and chips seemed fine but unfortunately the person in our party who had them was up all night with diarrhea and vomiting so that ruined our next day in the Bay! We did see ribs go passed and certainly they looked good. Anyway, hopefully our experience with the fish was a one off...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jimmy Jack's”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great food, good atmosphere. It was a really busy night but the staff were very nice and friendly - they firstly explained how long the wait may be and then apologised that it could take 30 mins for our main course. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I would recommend it for families.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous rips awful Caesar salad”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Hubby rates the ribs 8.5 out of 10 (ribs & chicken)
I order the Caesar salad which had crispy chicken noted on the menu - very disappointing - the chicken was a processed coated chicken like what can be brought in the supermarket - I was thinking fresh crispy chicken fillet! The egg was over cooked and it was only made with iceberg lettuce.
I shared my view with the waitress she said she would talk with the owner - she never got back to me!
When paying the bill I mentioned this again - no apology or acknowledgement if my complaint!
I guess it's about getting the numbers thru the place not quality!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Jimmy Jack's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing