We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!”
Review of Explore

Explore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter these intelligent and playful mammals up close in their natural environment. You may even get the chance to swim with the dolphins in the warmest waters in New Zealand…
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Wow this trip was absolutely amazing! Our skipper and Guide were so knowledgeable. We had the opportunity to see so many dolphins and were even lucky enough to get in the water with them 3 times. The first time was the best as the dolphins were just full on wanting to play and swim with us. It was hard to get a photo as they were just sooo close :D. This was a present for our eldests 11th birthday and she absolutely loved it (best gift ever!!). The water and the day were really warm. If you have the opportunity to go to the BOI this should be on your must do list!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    12
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Sadly no dolphin swim for us but that's the rules and nothing to do with the operator. Did have some great close up viewing though. The crew were professional, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Peterpeterpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a must do. Friendly staff, great boat, interesting commentary, lots of dolphins close up, drive through the hole in the rock, wonderful activity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swim with a dolphin ”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We went on a beautiful summers day in Paihia along with what seemed like a full boat load of others (about 40). We found one pod quickly but it had a baby so no swimming. We then spent 2 hours looking for more and happened to come across one dolphin hiding in a sheltered bay, so they got us to change and quickly get into the water. My what a shock the water was, it was absolutely freezing! In the end only about 12 people stayed in the water while we all watched from the boat. It was entertaining to watch the dolphin pop up miles from the swimmers then the captain ordering everyone to swim across, by the time they had done that he had popped up elsewhere. All in all though, a good experience with a knowledgable and friendly crew. Would go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottShadbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Most wonderful and amazing tour!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked the combo tour that includes swimming with dolphins in the morning and saling in the afternoon. We had the most wonderful experience swimming with heaps of dolphins that swam around us and jumped out of the water beside us!! The crew, that was very friendly, made a big effort to find the dolphins so we actually could swim with them. The afternoon sail was relaxing. We went to a nice little island where we could snorkle, kajak and have a walk. Can only recommend you to so this tour with explore as the groups are very small, the staff is friendly an the food very good!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathyede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore also viewed

 

Been to Explore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing