We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great campervan park, neary by to many activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
716 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great campervan park, neary by to many activities”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent one night here last week in our campervan. Great site amongst the olive trees. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Nice to get a discount being a NZMCA member. Nice roomy site that was near to amenities. Free wifi which was great. Showers are huge and spotlessly clean. I think they are the biggest showers I have seen in a camp. Very close to supermarket (across the road almost). Only about 15 mins walk to Treat Grounds and a little furtner to the main shopping area of Paihia. Great beach only a few mins walk away. Road could be a little noisey/busy at times as it is the road through to Kerikeri, but not a problem. Nice to have water available right outside the motorhome, which many camps do not have. A great camp and great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review - we appreciate you taking the time; and also of course that you enjoyed the amenities and ambiance of the site. I hope we will see you again - we will continue to make improvements as time goes along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camp site among the olive groves in our campervan in April 2014. The site is lovely and the amenities were immaculately clean and well presented throughout our visit. The site has free wifi which worked perfectly and it was so nice to not be faffing about buying vouchers or setting up accounts with service providers to get Internet access like many of the other campsites. The site is in an ideal location a short walk from the main centre (most of the other sites we saw around Paihia were a long way out and would require us to yake the campervan into the centre each time wewanyed to go!) & the site also has a small supermarket a short walk away which was very convenient.The most notable thing though was the lovely couple who run this site. They were on hand whenever we needed them, helpful and chatty. They were willing to help with any excursion bookings but were not pushy with this like some of the other sites (especially some of the big name sites). This was also one of the most reasonably priced sites we stayed at. We would certainly recommend and hope to one day come back. Thank you!!! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you Hazel for your superb review of our site, we certainly are very pleased you enjoyed it so much. We are trying to offer all the things we have wanted on our own travels and offer them to our guests, and will keep improving the site and apartments as we go along
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent site! It's a gem set amidst tranquil olive groves. It is located 3 mins walk from Countdown and the Coffee shed (great coffee) by the Caltex garage. 5 mins walk to the beach and takeaway and an easy 10 min approx walk to Paihia and foot ferry to Russell. We walked to the Treaty grounds in about 15 mins.

There is an amazing children's playground next door with climbing and trapeze type equipment and giant slide. Not connected to the site.

We looked at the apartments and they are very well furnished and beautifully kept.

There is UNLIMITED free internet! The toilets, shower and laundry facilities are well kept. There is a covered BBQ area with 3/4 BBQs .

We had the most restful holiday aided by a most helpful campsite team. The sites are bordered by olives which gives you a feeling of your own space. Well worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It was great tp meet you and your wife Patrick, as well as Jasper the dog! Thank you for your great review here; we very much appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matakohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Wow what a lovely spot away from it all with heaps for children to do. The cabins were spotless and well laid out. Can't fault it. There was a lovely park, flying fox and great little playgound for children. Very impressive.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins or studios are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are lucky to have Action World next door - they provide great entertainment for children of all Ages. Great to learn circus trapeze skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in a studio holiday apartment for 2 nights and thought the place amazing! Not to spoil for anyone else but this place is charging well under what they should be. The cleanliness and space of the apartment was first class and was by far the best place we've stayed in New Zealand so far (in 6 wks!). The balcony along with the furniture and bbq was an added bonus. A perfect place to chill out while my husband went diving for the day, gutted to have left ; ( Clean, modern, spacious, lovely hosts, laundry, internet,, what more could you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your great review - we appreciate it. Very glad you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We recently booked a summer holiday for 7 nights to visit the Bay of Islands. The apartment was spacious, very comfortable, tastfully fitted out and everything you would need for a holiday for 2 people (or family). Our hosts Lesley and Gary were most helpful with sugestions of day trips and restaurants in the area. What a delightful couple. The apartments set in beautiful gardens are located near a large supermarket and walking distance to the water. It is a good 20 minute walk to the main Paihai centre, a beautiful walk on walking paths along the Bay. We recommend this accomodation. Thank you again for making our holiday comfortable, relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneTY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer Trip Advisor a review, we appreciate it. It was a pleasure to play a small part in helping you relax and enjoy your precious week away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here driving straight from Auckland after arriving from the Uk. The long drive was well worth it. Fabulous little log cabin with absolutely everything you could wish for (including free Wifi, a laundry with drying area and extra outside wc!!)
Extremely comfortable and spacious for the 4 adults in our party.

Both Lesley and Gary came to introduce themselves and stopped for a chat to ensure we had all that we needed. Brilliant hosts, a credit to the park.
Great value for money too and we loved the personal postcard and hand made sweet treats that greeted us on arrival!! (Milk was also greatly appreciated too)
We'll be back and will definitely recommend you. Thanks alot again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiora_valley, Owner at Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments - we appreciate it. You seemed to have a great multi - nation get together :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 30 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#9 of 201 in Northland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park

Property: Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park
Address: 52 Puketona Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Waiora)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Campervan Park is located in Paihia, offering easy access to all of the Bay of Islands charms. Our 28 Site Campervan / RV park is set amongst established Olive Trees Well behaved dogs are welcome. The property is 450 metres from Paihia Beach, ideal for sunbathing and safe swimming, and a easy 15 minute walk from town. We are just across the round from the local Countdown Supermarket and have a great BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay of Islands Campervan and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Campervan And Caravan Park Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing